Reader reviews and comments on Mao's Last Dancer, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Mao's Last Dancer

by Li Cunxin

Mao's Last Dancer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2004, 444 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2005, 480 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 4
There are currently 28 reader reviews for Mao's Last Dancer
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Lynchy (05/24/08)

Wonderful
This is an awesome story and would recommend this to anybody, it's well written and very inspiring.
lewis (11/05/07)

Mao's Last Dancer
Very, very good, certainly a must read. Amazing recount of a very fortunate life, very inspiring, Li Cunxin's determination is so admirable.
SaDe (10/08/07)

A fairytale come true..
Mao's last dancer is one of the best books I have ever read. It encouraged me to make my dreams come true what ever it takes. I want to thank my English teacher for making me read this book. It's an awesome book!!
Seda (10/06/07)

Inspiring...
I've read this book for the second time and I still enjoyed it as much as I did the first time round! I found it very inspiring. You can achieve anything as long as you put your mind to it! Your determination, attitude and perseverance are all keys that will lead you to success, this is what I have learned from reading this book. I'd recommend it to people of all ages. This book really makes you appreciate how lucky we are today. Definitely a must read :)
Lily (09/24/07)

Mao's Last Dancer
Mao's last dancer is a great book and very interesting. This book is wonderful to read and is the type of book you can't put down until you are finished and then when you do finish you want to read more. I loved this book and I hope that many people after me that read it find it as good I did.
Lily
mohammad (05/31/07)

Mao's last dancer
Mao's last dancer is the best story that you will ever read, the end of Mao's last dancer was good.
&heats; I think... (05/20/07)

This book was..
Awesome. I loved it. It has something for everyone. You don't have to LOVE ballet to be able to enjoy this book because it is about so much more than that. It has all the components of a fantastic novel for all ages. I strongly recommend this book.
sheasanborn (05/06/07)

Honest, forthright and fascinating story.
Li Cunxin weaves a fascinating tale of a simple soul in a complex time who rises to from poverty and ignorance to unimaginable heights of excitement and achievement. What a story.

The fact that this is a true memoir, written bravely and honestly, adds to the impact on the reader. This is an important, as well as an entertaining, read.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.