Reader reviews and comments on A Great and Terrible Beauty, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Great and Terrible Beauty

by Libba Bray

A Great and Terrible Beauty
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Dec 2003, 416 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2005, 432 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 5 of 9
There are currently 65 reader reviews for A Great and Terrible Beauty
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Twinki (02/08/05)

This book was amazing. I've already read it many times. It uses rich language and has a thick, thrilling plot. Once I started reading this book, it was hard for me to stop. I would highly recommend this book to any reader and I think they would thoroughly enjoy it. I am 14 yrs old, and i found this book through a friend whose teacher had assigned it for her.
BrittanyY (02/02/05)

A Great And Terrible Beauty is a wonderfull book. Iread it in one hour and know I am readding it agan for a schoo report! I loved this book and highly recomend it ti all of my friends!
L. Lindsay (01/18/05)

The cover of this book comes close to suggesting a classic romance, but after reading it I realized I had it all wrong. To make a good story, it's my opinion that you have to have a careful balance between danger and humour; this hits it right on. Also, the depth that the author goes into on Gemma's character is spectacular, and it sort of prompts you to think about the decisions you're making now that will decide your life later.
I've read a lot of books and not many authors have been able to write about such a close friendship as Gemma's without making the plot seem cheesy. Throughout the book there is a constant back and forth from friendship to power that we see even today in society, and by bringing it down to the level of teenage girls in the victorian age, the clash is more understandable.
Megan H. (01/16/05)

I'm a huge reader, I read anything and everything. And when I noticed this book on the NEW BOOKS table at Borders, I picked it up and asked for it for Christmas...I read it in a day and am hooked.

Gemma is such a wonderful character that I can identify with. She has trouble with making friends at first, wants to become something better than what she is, and discover the looming mystery that follows her. I'm in agony waiting for the next book.
Alicia (01/15/05)

This was the best book I have ever read! The book kept moving forward and left me waiting for more. I heard that this was part of a trilogy...I hope it is.
Kitty (01/12/05)

This is a great book! It is very well-written.
cydney (01/11/05)

this book was one of the best i have ever read.i read nonstop for 2 days!!
Henry (01/07/05)

This book was an excellent read that left me wanting more. I hope the rumours are true that there is going to be a sequel, though, because the ending will dissapoint if this is the only book.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.