Reader reviews and comments on The Bookseller of Kabul, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Bookseller of Kabul

by Asne Seierstad

The Bookseller of Kabul
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2003, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2004, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 2
There are currently 12 reader reviews for The Bookseller of Kabul
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Taha Abdulla Baharoon (11/18/05)

The Bookseller of Kabul
My first knowledge of Book Seller of Kabul came into existence on 18/11/05 when I was watching Asne Seierstad being interviewed on BBC 'Hard Talk extra', further research led me to her other interviews and her second work titled One hundred and one days.

In all her interviews Asne Seierstad seems to be unapologetic for having misrepresented Afghan culture and for betraying confidences and hospitality of Shah Mohammed. She was not working in a typical war zone as many of you would want us believe. She was in fact working under the protection and blessing of foreign forces and has disgracefully exploited Afghanistan's misfortune while her much hyped girl's school in Afghanistan is nothing but a cover up for her sins. In her two books we are exposed only to Asne Seierstad's version of the story. We might hear different story later from Abbas, Aliya, Amir and Shah Mohamed, probably when the foreign forces have left Iraq and Afghanistan. And from the widows of Chechnya even much later, probably when her third book on Chechnya has been published and also publicized out of proportion by the western media.

Asne Seierstad at the moment openly admits that the Russian Army is brutal but who knows what will be her stand when she finishes writing her next book on Chechnya. She might probably not spare Chechen women who looked after her, at the time when their husbands were either killed or away fighting the Russians.

I myself have twice turned down requests by western writers who wanted to discuss with me on matters touching our way of life simply because I mistrust writers who have an axe to grind. If I had submitted to any of their requests I would probably have ended like Shah Mohamed with my name changed to Sultan Khan and probably an extra girls school built on our neighborhood.
G L Rowley (02/21/05)

A searing account of life in post-Taliban Afghanistan that stays with the reader long afterwards.
Hilay (02/20/05)

i think the bookseller os kabul was a facinating book. it highlighted the main events and the culture of afghans highlighting the main events. it definitely deserved to be ne of the best selling books![
Debbie Hurford (08/04/04)

I am still under the spell of The Bookseller of Kabul; it has given me so much food for thought and I would love to read the sequal to see what happens with Leila.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.