Reader reviews and comments on Eragon, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Eragon

Inheritance, Book I

by Christopher Paolini

Eragon
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2003, 528 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2005, 500 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 38
There are currently 298 reader reviews for Eragon
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

zero (02/29/16)

awesome
No words can describe how awesome this book and the series is!
dragon ball z chaos28 (11/21/15)

Eragon
The books in this cycle are the best books I have ever read
john (03/27/13)

amazing
This book is amazing. All who say otherwise are foolish.
me (09/07/12)

Eragon Review
This is my favorite book of all time but I still don't understand why you compare it TO FREAKING LOTR....... seriously Eragon is much better/
Waldow (02/14/12)

Amazing Book!!
This is such a great book! It's perfect for people who enjoy fantasy action books!!!!!
SkywardDreams (01/20/12)

Well Done
Mr. Christopher Paolini did extraordinary on his first book, I must say. A beautiful world inspired by one of the most revered classics...I won't say it's a copy, more a....reincarnation, one might say? of J. R. Tolkien's fantasy realm. The industrial cities of the humans, the underground kingdom of the dwarfs, the ethereal realms of the elves....It reminds me, yet one can't really peg Mr. Paolini as unoriginal.

The dwindling might of the dragons, the courage and idealism of young Eragon... I must say, very very nicely done. The way he portrayed magic, fighting skills, and intelligence of Eragon might have been cliche, but completely predictable. And the plot was well-woven together, as well...

Perhaps my favorite part is the writing style. Simple, yet elegant, with extravagant phrasing and 'bombastic' words. Easily understood with polite, almost medieval phrasing...Yes, I enjoyed it very much.

Points off for slight awkwardness and cliche, although it's to be expected from a novice writer. Perhaps the story moved along rather sluggishly, as well.

However, over all I say it is most definitely worth the read! A very good book.
Dudester (01/18/12)

Eragon is AWESOME!!!
A perfect book made by a perfect kid for the perfect person who wants it. Great job, Paolini!
MisaMisaEK (12/07/11)

rolls eyes at reviewer
So, A. Kordan calls Eragon a "Lousy novel" and continues to say "Anyone who enjoys this book has obviously not read any literature that has a point." How old would you be Jordan...? 12? Yeah, that seems to be good enough age, because then I would be able to forgive you for your redundancies. Compared to the other three, Eragon was the worst, but that's because it gets better and better. Authors come out with series because fans will read it and he will in turn make more money. It the way the world works, so coming up with a prediction as weak as that one, when in the 3rd book, the main characters vow to destroy the villain, shows your stupidity. As I recall, Paolini was 15 when he wrote it, and I'd like to see you have 3 best sellers. I can't stand people who show they're disdain for something they can't do. It's one thing if someone can't sing and you call them on it, but its a complete other thing when you insult that singer because of it. When you write a best selling novel about a boy and his dragon, and it does better than Paolini, then I'll consider what you wrote in a more positive light. Until then, go back to school and read other books.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.