Reader reviews and comments on The Greatest Generation, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Greatest Generation

by Tom Brokaw

The Greatest Generation
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 1998, 412 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2001, 412 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for The Greatest Generation
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Anonymous (08/12/01)

William Taft
Although I read the book about a year and a half ago, and many others have been read since, it still resonates and sticks in my mind. It was the first piece of literature that I read that was based on war, and since my consuming its pages, I have become interested in the lives that are lived and lost in war. The book is not just an overview of historical events- it is a collection of stories, emotions and events that combine to give the reader a sense of humanity in a most inhumane atmosphere. The book, in my opinion, delivers an emotional charge while stimulating the intellect.
Anonymous (08/12/01)

Ed Edge
This book the greatest generation, I find it funny Brokaw would call them "the greatest" I personally don't think they were, and here's my reasoning, this was the same generation they tolerated discrimination, and allowed it to continue. this was also the same generation that would've told a black person to ride in the back of the bus. an as for winning ww2 at first the united didn't care less about what was happening to the Jews much less Germany at the time, they even supported Hitler for awhile until pearl harbor was bombed. I think tom missed the mark on this one. the ww2 generation had their false and it took their kids and grankids to point out that racism was wrong.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.