Reader reviews and comments on The Greatest Generation, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Greatest Generation

by Tom Brokaw

The Greatest Generation by Tom Brokaw X
The Greatest Generation by Tom Brokaw
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 1998, 412 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2001, 412 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 4
There are currently 26 reader reviews for The Greatest Generation
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Annie Ahsoak (05/05/04)

This is a greatest book that I have ever read. I would encourage people to read this book. Once I started to read it, I couldn't put it down.
Annie Ahsoak, 19 years old
AAHS (01/25/04)

I'm reading this book like most other students, but not for any history class. I'm reading it for biology. Yes - biology. Why? Because this book is that good that, of all the books written, my biology teacher decides that we should read this book for the class as extra credit. It is a great book. Everyone who's commented has covered all the fields... so I'd say read it. It's worth it. If you think it's boring, skip to another section. It's good.
jeseica (05/16/03)

totally life changing book!
Greg (05/01/03)

Great Book, read it for my College Intro History class here at Western KY U. Awesome accounts by an awesome broadcaster!
Mark B. (03/25/03)

I, like many other students, had to read this book for my 11th grade U.S. History class. At first glance the book seemed big and boring, but after reading the first section, I was hooked. The book really could have been put together by anyone, because it is compiled of stories from WW2 vets, but even so, I rate this book 5 out of 5. I always knew that sacrifice was present in WW2 but I had no idea what this generation was put through. I now have amazing respect for the WW2 generation. I also think that they are the greatest generation, so far. I know that if my generation were put through a WW2 type of war, we would step up to the challenge. God bless America!
Owen S. (11/29/02)

It seems apparent to me that the literary world is scared to death of criticizing a book about the so-called, "Greatest Generation." The book really isn't that good. Brokaw's arguments are irrelevent and at times, asinine. Of course the country banded together in the face of fascism, just as we came together in the aftermath of 9/11. I would never take anything away from the men and women who served in WWII, but to claim that they are the "greatest generation" is simply insulting to anyone between 18 and 45. One must remember that America didn't even join the war until we ourselves were attacked, and even then we waited for Germany to declare war on us. But I digress. In conclusion, Brokaw's collection of interesting anectodes amounts to no more than that: a collection of interesting anecdotes, not a substantioal literary work.
Kara (11/10/02)

My whole high school is reading this book. On the first day when they gave them to us, I looked around the room, saw eye rolls, mock snores, and heavy sighs. But after reading the first few pages, there was silence. By the end of the year, we will have read the whole book. My high school is brand new, and in it's first year it has achieved what centuries of detention could not: respect. Our designated charity of the school year is to raise enough to make a sizable contribution to the effort to build a memorial in the capitol commemorating those Tom Brokaw wrote about.
Kristen Halford (09/21/02)

I had to read the book for history class. I thoroughly enjoyed it. It was well written and interesting. I agree with Mr. Brokaw to some extent, but I do believe that each generation has its strengths and downfalls and it's hard to give such a definitive title to a single generation. I am very grateful to WWII veterans for maintaining freedom in the world. However, I think that if another crisis of the magnitude of WWII were to occur today, my generation would be able to pull together and face the challenge. Look at how the country pulled todether after 9/11, in mourning and patriotism. Many poeople I knew flew to NYC to help in the clean up. Americans raised money for the victims' families. For the past year, Americans have contributed and sacrificed many things, including the boys over in Afghanistan.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.