Reader reviews and comments on The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

by Mark Haddon

The Curious Incident  of the Dog in the Night-Time
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2003, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2004, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 6 of 6
There are currently 45 reader reviews for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Anonymous (03/23/04)

I'm only seventeen but i found the book extremely tedious and boring. I doubt Haddon has ever worked with an autisic child in his life. My father used to be the director of an autistic school and now owns his own business. I've met people of all ages with autism and i find the character Christopher unbelievable. I think Haddon should do a little more research before he jumps into his next project.
Dianne (02/28/04)

I have an 11 year old son with Asperger's Syndrome and I am a teacher of a 15 year old boy with Asperger's in my Year 10 English class. I have read much literature relating to the syndrome but nothing has even come close to the way 'The Curious Incident' has, in giving me an understanding of what is going on in the head of these people. I have two copies for the reasons others have stated and I also have an audio CD version. I have recommended the book to the local library and I believe that any parent, relative teacher, neighbour or friend of someone with Asperger's Syndrome should read it. My Year 10 English student read it in one night and his written comment to me was, and I quote,

"...it kept me interested because I could understand and relate to the character of Christopher. I think that the way his mind works is similar to mine...I really did enjoy it as much as painting my cars or bush bashes."

And that's saying something!
Micka (09/30/03)

This book is great. I love it. It is funny and sad. It's a mystery, it's a comedy, and it's a heartbreaker!!
I recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy a great book and have fun! I don't want to lend mine out to anyone because I can't live without it! It's too cool!
Paul Lithgow (09/24/03)

The Curious Incident... is a wonderful read. Deceptively easy-going, it brims with ideas and taught me things I never knew. The asperger suffering narrator drew my attention to normal human isdiosynrcacies, that, when viewed through his eyes of Christopher Boone, highlight what a tragically confusing place the world must be for an autistic person.

The lack of metaphorical description and the books simple style is enlightening. Christopher can emotionlessly describe emotional events with great clarity and this is oddly moving. We recognise from his descriptions what emotion is happening yet through his writing, we are moved further by the fact that we realise he has no understanding of the emotion involved.

The odd pathos we feel for the narrator is not the only redeeming quality of this book. Mark Haddon has wonderful sense of humour and his plot, as it unfolds, is wickedly clever. Of course, we will never know if this is an entirley accurate portrayal of Aspergers syndrome, yet having studied psychology to an extent, it appears to be a wonderful account of what it might be like to view the world in this way.

An amazing, funny and touching book from a distinct new literary voice. This book should, if there is any justice in the world, become a set text in schools.

The comment about buying two copies is true ... I don't want to loan my copy to anyone.
Julie (08/06/03)

One of the best books I have read this year. The way the author unfolds the real story of what is going on in this boy's life -- filtered through his autistic perception -- is incredible. This book is funny, sad, and funny-sad!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...
  • Book Jacket
    Find Me Unafraid
    by Kennedy Odede, Jessica Posner
    With staggering emotional weight and keen awareness of love and humanity even in the darkest places,...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.