Reader reviews and comments on The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

by Mark Haddon

The Curious Incident  of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2003, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2004, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 5 of 6
There are currently 46 reader reviews for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Ingi (06/30/04)

It is a great book. I think I know Christopher, I worke with him here in Iceland. There is one thing that troubles me though. On page 21 - 27 the time line is 29 minutes, and in that time he goes from the police station and to his home where he plays 70 games of mine sweeper. Christopher is very accurate in his time logging, so I dont understand this.

Ingi
Charlie (05/28/04)

This is a superb book from this debut author. The book captures your interest from the first page and it doesn't wane throughout. The main character (Christopher) who suffers from Aspergers Syndrome is a wonderful character and from early on you really do feel like you know him and you empathize with the challenges that he faces. It's sad at times, but also rewarding. You so want everything to work out well for this young innocent boy, that you cannot put the book down. Superb...
Jim (05/16/04)

Just read it! It took me less than a day to read, but much more than a week to savour.
aga (05/13/04)

very good and interesting book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! well done mark, thanx
sam (05/13/04)

absolutly brilliant! excellent!
Hannah Lister (05/12/04)

I thought the book was spectacular, the best book i've read in ages! I read the book within 48 hours because once you start reading it you just cant put it down. I would recommend it to anyone, it is brilliant!
claire m (04/21/04)

This book is un-put-downable... I read it within 24 hours. The author has got it spot on. A great portrayal of the world in which Asperger's sufferers exist. Superb.
Emma from London (04/11/04)

I only meant to glance at the first couple of lines of this book - but 3 hours later I had finished it. It is the most unique book I have read for a long time. After I had finished, I really felt that I had a much better understanding of Autism and living without emotion.

I was particularly touched by the way that Christopher and his parents show their love for each other - Christopher will only let them touch his finger tips, as anything like a hug would be too confining for him. This is obviously very difficult for his parents who, like any 'normal' people want to show their love for their son by hugging him - especially in times of high emotion.

I am curious to know how much Mark Haddon know about Autism, I hope that this book really has given me an insight into this condition. I recommend this book as an escape, an adventure, an education and above all, as a touching tale of love in difficult circumstances.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.