Reader reviews and comments on The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

by Mark Haddon

The Curious Incident  of the Dog in the Night-Time
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2003, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2004, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 6
There are currently 45 reader reviews for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Ruta (10/27/04)

I Like this book very much :) it's cooli fink :) i loved it :) :* every day i read it... i'm 13 years old :)))) and i love this book!
Amber D (10/11/04)

Amber - BookBrowse

Hi Twin,

You may be able to obtain this information by contacting the publisher, Doubleday, at ddaypub@randomhouse.com. Doubleday is a division of Random House, and their contact page is at:
Contact Random House / Doubleday.

Best wishes in your search,
Amber
twin (10/11/04)

Can you tell me how many books were sold in Engalnd, in wales , in america, in spain seperately all over the world. Many thanks.
Ann Marie (09/16/04)

I have worked with young people with Asberger's Syndrome and I am really happy with Mark Haddon's character Christopher. He has managed to portray the level of anxiety brought about by new situations, changes and reactions experienced by those with the syndrome. It should be in the Special Needs Toolkit sent out to all schools in the UK and read by every support worker, teacher and other profesional's who work alongside them.

I congratulate him on showing the delightful side of seeing the world through different eyes, although Christopher would never understand what I have just said. The next time readers of this remarkable book encounter someone who clearly is not following metaphors then they may consider giving instructions or ansering in a straight forward manner. Come to think of it, we could all possibly manage to communicate better if we assumed each one of us is a Christropher until we know each other better.

I strongly recomend reading this book.
patricia (08/16/04)

I finished this book a month ago and I'm still thinking about it. I have a 22-year-old daughter with autism, so I took a particular interest in the character of Christopher. From what I know of autism, I think Haddon hit it right. Of course, Christopher's quirks, obsessions, and limitations might not be the same as other people we know with autism. However, I think he captured the essence of the disability in a poignant, yet comical way. He also did a great job in communicating Christopher's parents' frustration-tinged love for their son.

I see only one flaw in the depiction of Christopher. If he detests the color brown, I think he would have a real problem eating baked beans!

Patricia from Florida
Eleanor (08/05/04)

Im only 16 years old and my mum brought this book home one night and told me I should read it. I couldnt put it down, this book helped me delve into the mind of Christopher Boone, before now I didnt not know any one like this so it showed me what it would be like to have to live with somebody like this. I am now im doing an assignment on it and that is how I came upon this sight I had no idea that so many people enjoyed this book as I have! I could not put this book down it was amazing!!!
Hannah Halliday (07/30/04)

I think this book was really good
Ingi (06/30/04)

It is a great book. I think I know Christopher, I worke with him here in Iceland. There is one thing that troubles me though. On page 21 - 27 the time line is 29 minutes, and in that time he goes from the police station and to his home where he plays 70 games of mine sweeper. Christopher is very accurate in his time logging, so I dont understand this.

Ingi
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.