Reader reviews and comments on The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

by Mark Haddon

The Curious Incident  of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon X
The Curious Incident  of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2003, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2004, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 6
There are currently 47 reader reviews for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

catherine (12/13/04)

this book is very insightful. i really enjoyed it. it brought alot of things up that i would never have thought of.
Anonymous (12/03/04)

I like this book because i can interpret the felelings of CJ
Ruta (10/27/04)

I Like this book very much :) it's cooli fink :) i loved it :) :* every day i read it... i'm 13 years old :)))) and i love this book!
Amber D (10/11/04)

Amber - BookBrowse

Hi Twin,

You may be able to obtain this information by contacting the publisher, Doubleday, at ddaypub@randomhouse.com. Doubleday is a division of Random House, and their contact page is at:
Contact Random House / Doubleday.

Best wishes in your search,
Amber
twin (10/11/04)

Can you tell me how many books were sold in Engalnd, in wales , in america, in spain seperately all over the world. Many thanks.
Ann Marie (09/16/04)

I have worked with young people with Asberger's Syndrome and I am really happy with Mark Haddon's character Christopher. He has managed to portray the level of anxiety brought about by new situations, changes and reactions experienced by those with the syndrome. It should be in the Special Needs Toolkit sent out to all schools in the UK and read by every support worker, teacher and other profesional's who work alongside them.

I congratulate him on showing the delightful side of seeing the world through different eyes, although Christopher would never understand what I have just said. The next time readers of this remarkable book encounter someone who clearly is not following metaphors then they may consider giving instructions or ansering in a straight forward manner. Come to think of it, we could all possibly manage to communicate better if we assumed each one of us is a Christropher until we know each other better.

I strongly recomend reading this book.
patricia (08/16/04)

I finished this book a month ago and I'm still thinking about it. I have a 22-year-old daughter with autism, so I took a particular interest in the character of Christopher. From what I know of autism, I think Haddon hit it right. Of course, Christopher's quirks, obsessions, and limitations might not be the same as other people we know with autism. However, I think he captured the essence of the disability in a poignant, yet comical way. He also did a great job in communicating Christopher's parents' frustration-tinged love for their son.

I see only one flaw in the depiction of Christopher. If he detests the color brown, I think he would have a real problem eating baked beans!

Patricia from Florida
Eleanor (08/05/04)

Im only 16 years old and my mum brought this book home one night and told me I should read it. I couldnt put it down, this book helped me delve into the mind of Christopher Boone, before now I didnt not know any one like this so it showed me what it would be like to have to live with somebody like this. I am now im doing an assignment on it and that is how I came upon this sight I had no idea that so many people enjoyed this book as I have! I could not put this book down it was amazing!!!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.