Reader reviews and comments on Stiff, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Stiff

The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers

by Mary Roach

Stiff by Mary Roach
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2003, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2004, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 2
There are currently 12 reader reviews for Stiff
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Erin Noelle (11/11/04)

One of the best non-fiction books I have read in my lifetime. It's very compelling and has no problem holding a person's interest to the very end. Ms. Roach is comparable to the fabulous fiction novelist, Chuck Palahniuk. With her dark humor and wit she still retains respect for the dead. I applaud her work.
M.Z. Visi (08/09/04)

This book is a remarkably engaging read. Ms. Roach possesses the ingenious ability of being able to make digestible the most repulsive of subjects. she answers questions often best left unspoken. She covers a range of topics from medical experimentation, process of decay, crucifixion experiments, and the list goes on, and through it all she manges to honor the dead yet not to overglorify the cadaver-science is still science...... Great book, I highly recommend it.
cameren (05/24/04)

an extremely interesting book, with just the right amount of humour and understanding for what most would think a very morbid subject matter. the chapters on using decapitated heads for improving cosmetic surgery and face transplants for the horribly burned were so surreal and fascinating i had to keep reading. this will give you something to talk about when you finally get a date ;-) - cameren, 22
Arlette K. (06/18/03)

I truly enjoyed this book, it was interesting, well-written and enlightening. Quite a few times I was astounded by the information imparted, for example, I had no idea that they used cadavers in automobile crash tests (and since 1939!). Ms. Roach is a very good writer, I found her wit and humor very tempering to the subject matter and not once did I feel that she was inappropriate in her humor. I recommend this book to people who enjoy reading for reading sake. I will look forward to seeing another book of odd topic by her.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.