Reader reviews and comments on A Short History of Nearly Everything, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Short History of Nearly Everything

by Bill Bryson

A Short History of Nearly Everything
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2003, 560 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2004, 560 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 2
There are currently 15 reader reviews for A Short History of Nearly Everything
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Simon Wood (08/06/04)

I have been waiting all my post teen life for someone to produce a book like Bill's. It's great read. It is scientifically Educational to laymen like myself as well as offering vast historical insight of the founders (or should I say the occasional charlaten) of what we know and understand today about our planets and ourselves.
Our education systems should ensure that this book is prefered reading for all children between 11 - 16.
Well done Bill.

J Reilly (03/23/04)

Exceptional book. A great read. Everything you always didn't really want to know about every facet of our physical world - but Bryson drills it into the reader in a pleasant, informative and enjoyable book. Unexpectedly funny. It reminds me of the Connections series (formerly on PBS, I think) with James Burke.
Michael (03/17/04)

Although I have only read part 1 of the book, meaning I'm only 7% of the way in to it but already I can tell it will be a fantastic read. Space, natural history and evolution have always fascinated me and the author explains it all in a simple way. Only now can I appriciate how vast the immense vastness of space actually is. He is a brilliant writer and I'm sure that the rest of the book will continue in the fantastic way that it opened.

Michael Ritchie, age 16
S.I. MacDonald (03/16/04)


I am suffering the most horrendous torment this semester: physics, calculus, and chemistry. As I poured through stale textbooks and cup after cup of coffee I often wondered, "Why am I doing this to myself???" Then I coaxed my Physics professor to allow me to write a book review on "A Short History of Nearly Everything". Bryson, you're saving me this semester, your book was a breath of fresh air. You roused my interest in every one of my previously painful courses. I once detested Newton, but now I enjoy him completely! My highest regards.
Josh (02/26/04)

I bought this book as an audio file on iTunes. It is a thrilling. The way Bill Bryson uses comparisons to convey enormous distances and periods of time are enough to make you rethink existence.
Anonymous (08/28/03)

I was a little skeptical about how interesting a book about "everything" would be. I found it fascinating and a fast read. Terminology was not overwhelming and anecdotal stories added spice to some of the dryer topics. I found the information thorough yet concise enough to keep my interest. I have recommended it to most of my reading friends.
smac (08/28/03)

Brilliant. We need him to write a guide on success now.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...
  • Book Jacket
    Find Me Unafraid
    by Kennedy Odede, Jessica Posner
    With staggering emotional weight and keen awareness of love and humanity even in the darkest places,...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.