Reader reviews and comments on A Short History of Nearly Everything, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Short History of Nearly Everything

by Bill Bryson

A Short History of Nearly Everything
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2003, 560 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2004, 560 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 2 of 2
There are currently 15 reader reviews for A Short History of Nearly Everything
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Simon Wood (08/06/04)

I have been waiting all my post teen life for someone to produce a book like Bill's. It's great read. It is scientifically Educational to laymen like myself as well as offering vast historical insight of the founders (or should I say the occasional charlaten) of what we know and understand today about our planets and ourselves.
Our education systems should ensure that this book is prefered reading for all children between 11 - 16.
Well done Bill.

J Reilly (03/23/04)

Exceptional book. A great read. Everything you always didn't really want to know about every facet of our physical world - but Bryson drills it into the reader in a pleasant, informative and enjoyable book. Unexpectedly funny. It reminds me of the Connections series (formerly on PBS, I think) with James Burke.
Michael (03/17/04)

Although I have only read part 1 of the book, meaning I'm only 7% of the way in to it but already I can tell it will be a fantastic read. Space, natural history and evolution have always fascinated me and the author explains it all in a simple way. Only now can I appriciate how vast the immense vastness of space actually is. He is a brilliant writer and I'm sure that the rest of the book will continue in the fantastic way that it opened.

Michael Ritchie, age 16
S.I. MacDonald (03/16/04)


I am suffering the most horrendous torment this semester: physics, calculus, and chemistry. As I poured through stale textbooks and cup after cup of coffee I often wondered, "Why am I doing this to myself???" Then I coaxed my Physics professor to allow me to write a book review on "A Short History of Nearly Everything". Bryson, you're saving me this semester, your book was a breath of fresh air. You roused my interest in every one of my previously painful courses. I once detested Newton, but now I enjoy him completely! My highest regards.
Josh (02/26/04)

I bought this book as an audio file on iTunes. It is a thrilling. The way Bill Bryson uses comparisons to convey enormous distances and periods of time are enough to make you rethink existence.
Anonymous (08/28/03)

I was a little skeptical about how interesting a book about "everything" would be. I found it fascinating and a fast read. Terminology was not overwhelming and anecdotal stories added spice to some of the dryer topics. I found the information thorough yet concise enough to keep my interest. I have recommended it to most of my reading friends.
smac (08/28/03)

Brilliant. We need him to write a guide on success now.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.