Reader reviews and comments on The Da Vinci Code, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Da Vinci Code

by Dan Brown

The Da Vinci Code
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2003, 464 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2006, 496 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 21
There are currently 162 reader reviews for The Da Vinci Code
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Christoph Ackermann (01/18/05)

I am currently reading the DaVinci Code and have to say that I am a little bit disappointed. I will not go into the spiritual claims that Brown is making, but rather would like to highlight some basic (some might say trivial) errors.
I will just highlight some of the mistakes Brown makes regarding simple everyday items like cars. This might sound boring, but I think it highlights the general inaccuracy of the book and its bold statements.

1.   Regarding the ‘Smart Cat’, the Heroine claims that the car just consumes 1 liters per 100km, but a @Smart’ uses an average of 4.5 liters per 100km.

2.   Regarding the Taxi ride in Paris. Langdon tries to drive the Taxi, but being an American he cannot use a clutch (stereotype), so he accelerates to hard and the car tailgates away. European cars (especially Taxis) are mostly front wheel drive and would not tailgate, the few rear wheel drive cars used as taxis (usually Mercedes) are mostly fitted with an automatic. So there is no tail wagging.

3.   The drive in the Range Rover. The group tries to escape the police and heads into a forest. The butler is driving the car and gets the instruction to use the “emergency brake” to avoid using the brake lights. I never saw an emergency brake on a Range Rover and he surely does not suggest using the handbrake, as this action would result in the immediate loss of control over the car.

You might find these finding trivial, but I think they show how Brown alters information to suit his case. I leave to you to judge how this could be interpreted in regards to his claims about Christianity. I would like to admit that of course I am nagging about the most unimportant aspect of the book by picking out details like fuel consumption and the like.
However these details are usually "researchable" by the click of a button and I wonder why Brown chooses to mention these details in the first place. In fact he describes them so detailed that you have to wonder why as they are mostly irrellevant for most part of the story. If he feels so strongly about the fuel consumption then he should have looked it up or leave it out.
I think these details highlight the concern that Brown has spent most of his time making the story work, but it seems to fall apart once you scratch the surface.
TealRibbon (01/15/05)

I generally do not like mysteries...but this book was almost impossible to put down. I now plan to read more of Mr. Brown's work. Excellent reading!
Michelle (01/12/05)

Why someone give a 1 to this book. It should be ten. It is just a fiction. This book is awesome. I have never read any book like this one before.
Tito Torres (01/06/05)

I haven't read several books, this being said the Da Vinici Code has been the best book I have read. I have never been a religious person and this book has put more questions in mind and I know see religion in general inacurate. I believe that non one religion is moraly corect becuase no matter there are always those who critizes oposing religions with out knowing their true meaning. I'm 17 years old and haven't found my purpose in ife yet but this book has awaken an interest in me that I didn't know of. The study of theology.
kendall (12/21/04)

The Da Vinci Code is without a doubt the best novel I have ever read. It is an easy read merely due to the fact that it is so incredibly intriguing. Dan Brown did a wonderful job of mixing facts and imagination to create this wonderful novel. Many who bash this book do so because they cannot understand it or are far too religious to sit back and understand that it is a piece of literature, a fictional piece of literature at that.
Grace (12/17/04)

I thought this book provided a simple path into some very interesting and complex concepts. i also thought it was an inspirational look at art and archtecture down the ages. I thought the plot waqs fast paced and clever. I personally enjoyed the fact that i could get some of the codes before the scholars... of course i am sure this was a devise by Dan Brown to boost the readers self esteem... buti enjoyed the feeling none the less. I refuse to believe that anyone expected certain out comes... Teabing being "the teacher"... Fache's phone conversation being genuine... the sympathy you felt for Aringrossa and Silas... all absolutely insightful twists of fate and utterly unpredictable in my oppinion! Over all the book made us question certain things about faith. I'm certainly not saying I adopt all the theories by any means but it certainy makes me question more what i already suspected.
drama_queen (12/11/04)

I loved this book! There are so many points in the book that make you think about what you tend to just believe. This is one of the books that I can recommened to anybody!!! Everybody should read it, if only to expand their horizon a little.
Bentley (12/04/04)

I read the book and was inspired to draw a line from Glastonbury to the Roslin chapel and beyond out of curiosity on a road atlas of Britain. Once the line was drawn I looked up all the placenames in the index that begin with Ross, Ros or Rose. I was surprised how many fell clustered around the line I drew.
The Ark of the Covenant was featured on this weeks Richard and Judy as being connected to a Templar Chapel near Southam in Warwickshire and the local news recently covered a coded Grail plaque at Shugborough Hall in Staffordshire. Worth doing a search on if you liked the book.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.