Reader reviews and comments on The Da Vinci Code, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Da Vinci Code

by Dan Brown

The Da Vinci Code
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2003, 464 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2006, 496 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 21
There are currently 162 reader reviews for The Da Vinci Code
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

amortiser (01/30/05)

Charles,
You note the discrepency in the length of the driveway but you have failed to take note of the owner's problems with the French government and bureaucracy. Brown has amplified this in a spectacular way in that in this short time they have resumed half his land.

anne bertrand (01/27/05)

I am a 61 year old Catholic, and have no plans to leave the faith because of Davinci. However, I read the book and had a good laugh. Its fiction people. Go look at the paintings if you must, try and find the clues. As a suspense novel, it had a fast and furious pace. As a mystery, well, I wasnt too mystified about most details, and very mystified by others. I have never read a book to check out my ability to find lilttle picky errors in details. This kind of adventure book is not the place to start. Everything was just wrapped up too neatly in the last few pages for a really good book. (in my opinion). I have never found a book in all my years of reading that caused such and uproar. You either love this book or hate this book. There is very little ground between. It all goes back to never argue about religion. Its Just a Book. Just A Fun Read.
Jensen (01/26/05)

Very good book! You better read it or else you will miss the one time opppertunity of reading the number one book in the entire world!!!!!
Lelo (01/23/05)

There are some incoherences in the novel. Everything seemed so easy for Langdon and Sophie. I mean, Mr. Vernet going out with them in a car of the bank without being noticed? Then, how did they escape from the cops in England? How did they escape in the museum? Come on!
Silas's fan (01/22/05)

I didnt like the ending. Too much fuss about nothing.
Ana Victoria Wo Ching Wong (01/21/05)

This book was interesting in the first chapters. Then it just turned predictable. I'm almost sure Mr. Brown has read The Brotherhood of the Rose (by David Morrel) and Umberto Eco's The name of the rose, but couldn't make a good book. I wonder why it is a bestseller. Some episodes of Third Watch are actually better written than this light "novel".
your average Joe (01/20/05)

This book was simply disappointing. It would make a nice Sunday afternoon movie, but that's it. It's just overloaded with clichés.
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY.
MS 32 (01/20/05)

This novel was phenomenal. Dan Brown continues his excellence in writing, storytelling, and reader interest. I simply could not put this book down. I couldn't handle putting down his first Robert Langdon adventure "Angels & Demons". These books are so great for readers of all ages. I am in the youngest age group of readers for this book. As a young adult of 14, I appreciate this brilliant writing. Many of the books I read are fun and cute, yet they do not have superior plot development, action/adventure, romance, and intelligence. I enjoyed the book "Angels & Demons" even more than i did DVC. I also read Dan Brown's novel "Digital Fortress" and enjoyed that as well. I am currently in the middle of "Deception Point" which is the final Dan Brown novel in print. I am also anxiously awaiting his fifth book, the third in the Robert Langdon series.

P.S. - There is a great online treasure hunt type of activity involving codes and the "Da Vinci Code" book. The site is

www.randomhouse.com/doubleday/davinci/

it is very challenging and time consuming as well. "GOOGLE" is really helpful for this type of activity. I have completed most of it so far and can't wait for the time to finish the rest. When you have a day off, or when school or work gets a touch boring, visiting this site is a great task. Later...MS 32

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.