Reader reviews and comments on The Da Vinci Code, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Da Vinci Code

by Dan Brown

The Da Vinci Code
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2003, 464 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2006, 496 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 10 of 21
There are currently 162 reader reviews for The Da Vinci Code
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Bookmanjb (03/24/04)

I am AMAZED at this book's popularity. While it is true that there is lots of fascinating historical detail, the flat, implausible characters, unbelievably cliched dialog, the goofy plot coincidences and Deus ex machina's, and the INCREDIBLY BAD WRITING (bullets that "sail" over people's heads? PUH-LEEEZE. Every page had at least one howler, it seemed.) all combine to form one really bad novel. I had to force myself to finish this book because I figured there had to be an incredibly exciting climax for this drivel to have impressed so many people. I was wrong. If you thought this was a great thriller, well, all I can say is that you have worlds of delight ahead of you when you read a genuinely well-written, taut thriller. Try Robert Harris and continue upward you've reached the heights with Le Carre and Alan Furst.
GNG (03/21/04)

I am surprised that so many like this book! The characters are not at all well portrayed (Langdon is some sort of Jack Ryan in a tweed jacket who spouts rough'n'ready platitudes: "I've seen plenty!" "You must be kidding!"). The story is creaking, and contrived. I don't find it a compulsive page turner at all -- I have only kept reading out of a sort of masochistic fascination. I guess it rates a "two" for that, though . . .. Inaccuracies abound, about law enforcement, what embassies can do for fugitive Harvard profs., apparently quite a bit of the conpiracy theory stuff is lifted from dubious web sites. If you want a "smart" mystery thriller, you can do WAY better, folks. I'd suggest starting with "Foucalt's Pendulum" by Umberto Eco.
Jason Fontaine (03/20/04)

I am only a few pages in to this book and it already seems to be a mind gripper! If the story doesn't get better, the first sequence is likely to keep you reading throughout. My thanks to Dan Brown for writing an excellent novel.
Ted R. (03/15/04)

Well, I suppose I have to give it a 2, because you do want to keep on reading, but what atrociously bad writing! Where was the editor? Someone in my family passed it along to me with a cryptic "Wonder what you'll think of this one?" Incredible number of factual errors, yet the dude can spin a yarn. Have to admit that. Of course, he lifted most of it straight out of "Holy Blood, Holy Grail," but you guys probably know that.
Dick Wallace (03/12/04)

I am right in the middle of the book. I can't believe that I can't put it down.

It is one of the best books I have everread and can't wait to finish it.
Alain Luna (03/10/04)

This is one the best books that i have ever read and i recomend it to everyone. I is one of those books you can't put down

By the way im 14
E. Abcarius (03/09/04)

One of the best books I ever read! Very well written, I plan on returning to the Louvre for a double-take!
Mandy (03/05/04)

I loved this book! And I have good news for th others who loved it: it is being made into a movie. Details are few, but it is being directed by Ron Howard and it is rumored that Kate Beckinsale will be playing Sophia and Russell Crowe will be playing Robert Langdon.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.