Reader reviews and comments on Derailed, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Derailed

by James Siegel

Derailed by James Siegel X
Derailed by James Siegel
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2003, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2004, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 8 reader reviews for Derailed
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Pam (04/04/11)

Very exciting book
I was gripped by the plot from the very beginning. It was one of those books that it was difficult to put down.
E (08/20/06)

OUTSTANDING BOOK!
I read the entire book in one night...simply an outstanding novel that kept my attention until the last page.
Tawnie (07/13/06)

Derailed
I made the mistake of watching the movie before reading the book. THe movie was good (my favorite movie actually) But the book was so much better! I had many sleepless nights just reading this book...I couldnt put it down. I highly recommened this book!!
AJ (05/30/06)

What I think... (so far)
I am more than half way though the book, and I find it to be pretty intense and entertaining. Although, I do agree that there are many racial slurs in the novel. This can't help but make me wonder if James Seigel is prejudice himself. Honestly, if you don't like any bit of racism, then don't read the book. As for me, I am a biracial high school student, and it doesn't bother me to the point where I need to put the book down.
Jill (07/10/05)

Derailed
First book I have read by this author. A real page turner.
Tamika D. (02/16/05)

I'm a 22 year old African American female that lives in San Diego, CA. A friend at work told me about this book and said that it was so intense that he couldn't finish the book, he explained the plot and I said that I'll read it. I read through the first few chapters and was immediately discusted because this book is full of racial comments towards (mainly) African Americans and Hispanics. I stopped reading it because I was upset and I tried to get through the book thinking it was my imagination. I read through another chapter and again, there was his racism. I told a friend that I would put money on the fact that he made the mugger something other than "Caucasian" so I jump to that chapter and of course there was more racism. I don't like the book because it is subcontiously telling people to pretty much watch their back from us "sloe eyed Black" people. The sentence was actually "Sloe Eyed black Man" in the book. I personally think this display of racism should be taken off the shelfs in bookstores!
Joe Ayers (11/20/04)

I read approximately 50 novels each year and this one had so many plot twists that I couldn't put it down. Definitely the book of the year.
Suzi (03/09/03)

I want this book! I simply read the excerpt and that was enough! Talk about gripping!
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: Killers of the Flower Moon
    Killers of the Flower Moon
    by David Grann
    Voted 2017 Best Nonfiction by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    The long, sorrowful list of injustices done ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dry
    The Dry
    by Jane Harper
    Voted 2017 Best Debut Novel by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    After receiving a letter from his childhood...
  • Book Jacket: Little Fires Everywhere
    Little Fires Everywhere
    by Celeste Ng
    Voted 2017 Best Fiction by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    Small towns, big drama. Acclaimed author ...
  • Book Jacket: La Belle Sauvage
    La Belle Sauvage
    by Philip Pullman
    Voted 2017 Best Young Adult Novel by BookBrowse's Subscribers

    I wasn't quite sure what to expect ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Second Mrs. Hockaday by Susan Rivers

At once a love story, a history lesson and a beautifully written tale of forgiveness.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Story of Arthur Truluv
    by Elizabeth Berg

    An emotionally powerful novel from New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Berg.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Autumn

Autumn by Ali Smith

One of the New York Times 10 Best Books of the Year, and a Man Booker Prize Finalist

Enter

Word Play

The Big Holiday Wordplay: $400+ in Prizes

Enter Now

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.