Reader reviews and comments on Family Matters, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Family Matters

by Rohinton Mistry

Family Matters
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2002, 448 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2003, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 1
There are currently 3 reader reviews for Family Matters
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Joan (04/10/11)

Family Matters
Family Matters is just that...the every day happenings and ups- and -downs in family life. The same issues affecting family relationships in Bombay, as anywhere else in the world. The characters are beautifully drawn, true-to-life, and with flaws we all relate to.
The ending is brilliant - the ends not all neatly explained nor explanations forthcoming.
I felt the characters were alive and living next door!
The text is slow, gentle,and a pleasure to read.
Ronin (06/26/03)

Very Good Book. Readable, captivating.Touching storyline, memorable characters.
Joe (06/09/03)

'Family Matters', like Mistry's other works of fiction, stands out from the crowd of the so-called 'postcolonial works' that have emerged from India after the 1980s. The most striking aspect of the book is that its theme revolves around a Parsi family. A story of love, hate, temptations, sin, faith redemption, and of course, Destiny. The old and terminally ill Nariman becomes an unavoidable presence in the lives of his daughetr Rexona and her family, when his stepchildren conveniently dumps him in her small apartment. Nariman's memories mingle with the fight for survival in Rexona and Yezad's (her husband) household and it makes their children learn lessons of compassion and selflessness. In the fight Yezad finds himself torn between his duties to the family and the inabitlity to raise the money which is badly needed thanks to the addition of a new, ailing member in the family. Why does he fall prey to the circumstances? Can his act be branded a betrayal? Why does his tormented mind seek solace in a religious fervour which he used to shun in an agnostic manner? And, why his younger son Jehangir, towards the end of the story, worries his head away about the happiness that is lacking in the family which is otherwise redeemed from all the worries? The answers are to be found in this novel that Mistry wrote after a long break. And for those who are interested in the Parsi quest for relevance in the novels of Mistry, this is a must read. Shortlisted for the 2003 Booker Prize. And, for the third time, Mistry lost the Prize by a narrow margin. The only drawback I could find about the book was the lack of a key to the terms related to the Parsi (Zoroastrians in India) religion. The length of the book is not a hindrance at all, for those who love reading the words of a master story-teller!
  • Page
  • 1

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.