Reader reviews and comments on Life of Pi, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Life of Pi

by Yann Martel

Life of Pi
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2002, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2003, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 10 of 10
There are currently 80 reader reviews for Life of Pi
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Chuck (06/08/03)

Insightful, yet mysterious. This novel is like the finest chedder. $9.00 for 300 grams of pure entertainment.
Anil (06/07/03)

Fantastic. Many years from now people will speak of this book as we now speak about David Copperfield or Count of Monte Cristo or A Tale of two Cities.
Kristeena (05/26/03)

I have read both Martel's novels, Life of Pi and Self. I found them extremely graphical and interesting. At no time was I bored. His books expressed my emotions, from happy, to angry, to depressed. His words made me feel what the character was feeling, and that I believe, is what a true novel should be like. Yann's now become my favourite author, and everyone should experience his way of writing.
Joel (05/21/03)

Being a mathematician with a nose for good literature, this book intrigued me from the time I first heard about it. On hearing that this book was after the style of Italo Calvino, I knew that I had to read it. I was certainly not disappointed - the influence of the magic realist movement is not difficult to see, and the tale is both beautiful and thought provoking.
Amy (03/12/03)

My book club met last night and "Life of Pi" kept us talking for hours. The reading guide was great!!!!!!! I would definitely recommend this book to all of my family and friends.
bitter plum (02/27/03)

yann martel has to be one of the greatest authors alive. he brings the characters to life and makes you feel as if you are pi on that boat with the carnivourous tiger. the end was the truly amazing part
Leo (02/16/03)

In this inspired novel Yann Martel blends story and craft with a mastery that leaves readers glowing in the ineffable consciousness only genuine art can induce.
Jenae (01/19/03)

I was skeptical going into this book....how much could one write regarding a tiger and a boy on a boat. Was I wrong! Yann Martel is an amazing wordsmith with an outstanding ability to combine wit and philosophy to give his readers a deep message in a lighthearted way. This is a must read! It's fast, easy yet deep and meaningful. It may just change your life!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.