Reader reviews and comments on The Crimson Petal and The White, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Crimson Petal and The White

by Michel Faber

The Crimson Petal and The White
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2002, 848 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2003, 944 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 4
There are currently 28 reader reviews for The Crimson Petal and The White
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

JC (09/22/03)

I'm not as enamoured of Crimson Petal as most of the reviewers. I thought this book was too long, and wonder if it ended so abruptly because the writer wasn't sure where it was going. The book had a very strong start, but the notion that the prostitute could give her consort business advice is pretty far fetched, and the ending was bad. I was mostly impressed with the subtlety of the change in the characters over the course of the story, however, and would recommend the book, in general. It's certainly better-written than a lot of pop fiction that's out there right now.
Brian (08/18/03)

I have a theory that <<edited for possible plot spoiler content>> was a ruse planned by Sugar and that Sugar, Sophie, and Anges are living happly ever after!
JD (07/18/03)

This book should come with a warning label -- once you start it you will not be able to put it down!
Rosemary (05/23/03)

I have just recently finished this book,even though it is 800+pages
it is a quick read.I liked the way all the characters seem to come to life.I also enjoyed the way the book opens,with the reader being spoken to by the narrator beckoning the reader to follow along to meet the very unforgettable characters.
I found myself feeling deeply for Sugar and Agnes,sorry to see the book coming to an end,and really hoping for more to see what happens with Sugar and Sophie.
I really hope there is a sequel to pick up where "Crimson Petal and
the White" stops,to answer questions that are left unanswered.
Elizabeth Cash (05/10/03)

This is a book I could not put down. Literally. When do we find out what happened to Sugar and Sophie? I enjoyed it VERY much and look forward to more.
fnevlntine (04/25/03)

I finished this book last week and was sorry to say goodbye to these wonderful, mulit-faceted characters. Sugar is one character that will not to be forgotten any time soon. A woman first, one that wanted to love and be loved. When I finished the last page, I couldn't quite decide how I felt about the book or its ending. I've come to the conclusion that what I loved most about this book was the uniqueness of each character and the very descriptive settings. After a week with out Crimson, I find myself wishing for more.
Jan Hall (04/16/03)

I'm halfway through. Went online a bit and found a poem by Tennyson from which the title came. I'm very taken with the book, it is a very sensory experience.
Harise Poland (04/07/03)

I loved this book, I particularly liked the way the reader is addressed directly and intimately, as the novel opens. It takes you into the story, and you follow the lulling voice without effort. Then you forget about that voice and just read. Because the book was physically large and heavy, I didn't carry it around like a paperback, and took my time reading it. I never went for too long and always was glad to open it again, as the characters are so fully fleshed out, that it is no trouble at all to remember their personalities, like old friends. No one is all good, none all evil, although some lean pretty far in one direction or another. I want more, I'd love a sequel.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.