Reader reviews and comments on Coraline, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Coraline

by Neil Gaiman

Coraline
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2002, 176 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2003, 162 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 4
There are currently 32 reader reviews for Coraline
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Tanuja Amina Budraj (12/22/09)

The #1 book
Grade 5: In my class we read this book. Every one was sitting on the edge of their seat waiting for the next event to happen. Every time our teacher stopped it was a cliff hanger we were always waiting for the next day to come to know what happens next. This book is the #1 best book in the world.
Turtle Girl (12/09/09)

Great
I loved this book. I could never put it down. It always kept me hanging.
Neil Gaiman Fan (10/13/09)

Coraline
In Neil Gaiman's book Coraline he shows quite scary sides. Which can be scary for little kids pre-k-1. This is a book more for upper grades in 5th, 6th, 7th, and so forth. I think it is a very great book. I think that the mystery and adventure in the book is very well written. A lot of stories are written too scary or not scary enough and Neil definatley used the right amount of scariness. He balanced it out with the mystery and the adventure.
Coraline young pre-teen adventurer, finds a closet and a mysterious cat, a nameless cat perhaps. She wants to go but the other mother doesn't want her to go. Face to face with an evil creature trapping her Coraline needs to find her way out, rescue her parents, and help this nameless cat. Quite an adventure would you agree???
Pre-teens should read book. If you like scary and mystery.
shaheer49 (10/10/09)

coraline
Dude I think this was an awesome book and I recommend it to all you out there to read this book. Peace out.
Sophie (09/11/09)

Creepy
When I first picked up this book, my younger sister commented that it was rumored to be disturbing & she wouldn't read it - I read several chapters, which was enough to learn that not only were the pictures illustrated in the book unusually disturbing, but the overall idea definitely shouldn't SHOULDN'T be exposed to CHILDREN under the age of 12.
It may have been imaginative, and very creative, but I strongly urge other parents to be cautious about buying this book for your children..I'm in my late teen years and even I gets chills reading it!
Callum Cartledge (05/12/09)

Coraline - Neil Gailman
Coraline is an amazing (yet a bit disturbing, but in a good way) story, about a young girl called Coraline, who finds an amazing adventure inside her own home. All she wants is an adventure, and she gets one all right. Everything is the complete opposite to the real world, everyone and everything is fun at first, but as she meets her oh so sweet other mothers dark side, things go from a dream, to a nightmare.She gets trapped in her nightmare, and her real parents go missing. Will Coraline ever escape from her dreading new world, along with her new friends : Cat, 3 Souls, other Misses Spink and Forcible, and hundreds of dogs. Make sure you read the fantastic 'Coraline' !
Jordyn Taylor (01/14/09)

Grasp our attention
I feel Coraline is a compelling horror story only lacking in one field. I feel the author lacks in his grasp of the readers attention. It falls short of that one aspect that hooks you into the story.
caro (12/18/08)

awsome
It is one of the best books I have ever read!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.