Reader reviews and comments on The Thief Lord, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Thief Lord

by Cornelia Funke

The Thief Lord
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2002, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2003, 376 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 3 of 15
There are currently 116 reader reviews for The Thief Lord
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Lauren (03/14/07)

Thief Lord and Cornelia Funke
Was a completely enchanting story- however I did not think it would go the direction it went in. That was good but I can see why a person would be disappointed in the ending...I thought that there should have been more on Prosper, I feel that I never really got to know him. Loved the characters Victor and Ida. They were interesting and charming and I think they enlightened the story. Cornelia Funke is a fabulous author- Inkheart and Inkspell are her best works. Did not enjoy Dragon Rider too much - would not recommend that. I would like to see a sequel to Thief Lord and a brand new series. I give Thief Lord a five out of five.Good book!

P.S. Did u know that the book was originally written in German? I recently found that out. You might have known already though.
audrie (02/16/07)

Awesome Book!!!!
Even though i haven't read all of it.....I can't put this book down!!!!! It is an awesome mystery and it catches my attension really fast.
Nicholas Adam Harrison-Trent (11/30/06)

Good Book
I really like this book.It was very interesting.And the setting was very unique.I`ve never read a book with this kind of setting.My favorite characters were Scripo and Prosper. Bottomline: This is a great book that i enjoyed reading very much. I wish there was a sequel
Tink (11/01/06)

Thief Lord
I really enjoyed this book I thought it was awesome!
lily (07/16/06)

2 best to harrypotter
the thief lord is deffinatly mt 2 fav next to harry poter of course;)i first read it when i was 1 3 and i luved it because the thief lord is a amazing well writtin book full of a unique and creative and realistic storyline and theme full of adventure,mystery,comedy, and everything inbetween!!!! everyone who loves to read adventure ages 8-infinity will luv to read the thief lord i KNOW i do;)
Samantha H. (05/02/06)

Splendid!
I loved it so much! This book is as good as Harry Potter. I think Funke should make a series. Riccio is hilarious,Prop is so sweet, Scip is adventerous, Bo is so hypnotizing. This book is great I recommend it! I seen the movie too, it followed the book really well.
Alex (04/25/06)

spectacular
This book was my absolute favorite book in the world!
I could read this book over and over and never get tired of its wonders.
It was so mysterious and wonderous and just jumped out to grab me and hook me like a fish.
The description realy came alive and came to and put on a play in your mind!
This book really takes you in by the pages after each other one is finished.
lala (03/19/06)

BRILLLL!!!!!!!!!
ILOVED THE THIEF LORD
it is adventurous,fun,full of suspense,twists & turns
i STRONGLY recomend it to all avid readers aged 10 to17
this book ,every time you think youve nearly finished it ....another twist comes up
AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.