Reader reviews and comments on Across the Nightingale Floor, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Across the Nightingale Floor

Tales of the Otori, Volume I

by Lian Hearn

Across the Nightingale Floor
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2002, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2003, 323 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 5 of 9
There are currently 68 reader reviews for Across the Nightingale Floor
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Raziel the MechWarrior (05/31/04)

Read this book, I Command You! You will love it.
Jandor (05/09/04)

Lian Hearn's "Across the Nightingale Floor" inspires the reader with it's historical-fantastic atmosphere continuing the much beloved ancient history of Japan.
Darkmarvel (04/27/04)

This is a definite for those of you who love anime involving power full ninja.
Phil (04/26/04)

hey I´m from Germany and I must say this book is the best book I´ve ever read in my live!!!
Christina Li Volsi (03/24/04)

Excellent plot and page turner!!! I cannot wait to buy Tales of Otori II and III. WOW!!!
samurai3x3 (01/15/04)

an awesome book. i loved it from beginning to end. the action never gave up at any moment. most books out there now and days are great to read, but this one pulls you into the book everytime you read it. i was amazed and have read it twice it was so good.
posse (01/06/04)

I bought a pocket edition and started reading at 16:00, I had plans for other things, but I just couldn't let it go off my hands. Anyway it's 02:45 AM, and I finished it.



Highly recommended.
Jess (11/15/03)

This is brilliant writing. Fantastic. I was immersed. Before i read these books i wasnt too crash hot on japanese culture - not being a racist - but more or less not appreciative of the culture. the books converted me, and im wanting to take up the language and try it all over again. brilliant.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.