Reader reviews and comments on Across the Nightingale Floor, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Across the Nightingale Floor

Tales of the Otori, Volume I

by Lian Hearn

Across the Nightingale Floor
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2002, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2003, 323 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 4 of 9
There are currently 68 reader reviews for Across the Nightingale Floor
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Keade (11/16/04)

this book is brilliant I have already read it over 10 times and love it to bits

It deserves more than 100%
alana (11/08/04)

i am 12 years old and i nerver relly used read but after ''across the nightingale

floor'' all i want to do is read i can not wait for the second and thrid.

if i had to this book i would give it a 10/10++. it is a great book i recomed it to

anyone who likeswar,love and adventure.i hope the second and thrid are as good

as the first.i hope erveryone enjoys it as much as me. it's the best



CID (09/28/04)

I first read 'Across the nightengale floor' last year in my first year of sixth form, it was intended for the year 10's, but my Lit teacher let me borrow a copy; she said i would enjoy it because of my interests. Im not a mojor reader (of books) and i useually get bored when reading and find myself struggling through the text, but this book was totally different i read a couple of pages on the bus trip home and before i knew it i was shunning T.V and computer games in favour of reading this story. I believe the book was appealing because of its imaginative mixtures of ation, drama, fantasy and romance with out being compleatly unbelievable. The author has built up the characters and their background so well that you can vividly see every aspect of world of the three countries and the clans that occupy it in your mind when your reading. You could almost believe that this work of fiction was an event that actually occured in the past of some exotic mystical land. Days after returning the book to my teacher i had bought my own copy and recently i bought a copy of 'Grass for his pillow' part 2 ot the 'tales of the Otori', which takes you even deeper into the world of 'Takeo' and the Otori.

'Across the nightengale floor' is a fantastic story that can appeal to a wide range of audiences and it would be a mistake for anyone to give it a miss.
alexandria (07/16/04)

Absolute DITTO to all wonderful comments previously posted. I've read (and own) some of the finest fiction in various sub-genres and this volume I of 3 had mealso desperately waiting for #2. A heavy local library supporter, Nightengale Floor I bought, and ordered #2 & #3 immediately... in hardcovers (and I'm poor). And yes, I also lost sleep and chores waited, and I passed each of them to my 16-yr old daughter who held her breath, cried, exclaimed, lost sleep, as much as I did. Don't anyone stop with volume I (as if you could!), Also insist that your libraries and local bookdealer get Grass For His Pillow and Brilliance of the Moon as well. And be sure to read in sequence. Each picks up at very scene where left off. And utilize benefit of Cast of Characters, it helps.



If you loved this, a slightly more difficult find but oh-so-well worth the effort (avail in paperback from Random House) is "Bridge of Birds - A Novel of An Ancient China That Never Was" by Barry Hughart... think a has-been Charlie Chan meets Crouching Tigen, Hidden Dragon in the 7-Seas of Sinbad, written with incredible tenderness and humor and excitement. Another sleep-loser. And if you say you're never moved to laugh out loud or cry while reading, test this one. For me, it set a standard for Tales of the Otori to match, and they did.
Robban (07/08/04)

Incredible book. I love this kind of books, really close to "Harry Potter" and J.R.R Tolkiens triology. But this book is even better. Hughe landsqapes that turn on your wildest fantasy.
Matt Lovelace (06/18/04)

I've read both of the Otori books and I can honestly say that they are the best I've ever read. I could not put them down. In fact I plowed through the second book in two days. Awesome.
ah_ku mei ^^ (06/12/04)

The first book had excited me and immediatly I read the next.

I have to say this is one of the most excellent book I have come across because

it suited me with rich context from the ancient history, which i LOVE.

Now, i'm waiting in anticipation for the third...

Oh gawd, my brain is tearing... help! Where is my third book???
Joka (06/09/04)

This book is the best Ive read probably. I think its way better than the harry potter books and im surprised its not as well known. Great storyline and the the authour brings to life the charachters and the environment brilliantly. Im tryin to get all my friends to read. I cant wait for the third one.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.