Reader reviews and comments on The Lovely Bones, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Lovely Bones

by Alice Sebold

The Lovely Bones
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2002, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2004, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 6 of 15
There are currently 116 reader reviews for The Lovely Bones
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Annette (10/07/04)

I had never even heard of this book before. I came across it in the library and thought it looked like an easy read. This is not the type of book that I usually read. I love reading but have never been moved enough to cry. This book made me bawl. I loved it. What a beautiful read. I have now recommended this to many friends and students I work with( I work in a high school )something I never have done before. I will noe be looking for more of Alice Sebold's writings.
Anonymous (10/05/04)

Hi I am supposed to be doing a research paper over The Lovely BOnes and I cannot seem to think of a topic. Does anyone have any suggestions? ANY ideas or comments would be helpful!
Thanks!
Dunzy (09/20/04)

Maybe it was all the hype that did it, but I was disappointed by this book. I rate it high for its description of family life and (especially!) for its imaginative view of heaven, but the plot just clanked. Susie's last name should have been Creamcheese. Her "voice" didn't ring true for me.
Anna (09/20/04)

The first sentence grabbed me then I could not put it down! What a tragic, yet at the same time hopeful story. I know I will be re-reading this one again in a few months knowing that I will be just as moved as I was when I first read it..........much like I when I watch a favorite movie again. I rarely recommend books to anyone but did tell several of my friends about this one. The ones who bought and read it liked it very much.
Lex (09/16/04)

IT WAS A GREAT BOOK! AT SOME PARTS I WAS JUST DISCUSTED, BUT I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN. I WANTED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENED NEXT!! LOVED IT!!!!!
Lori (09/01/04)

This has to be the most over-hyped book I've read.
It's painfully boring, non-descript and uneventful.
If this is required reading in schools, you're going to turn a lot of kids into non-readers.
DWO (08/19/04)

Everyone knows someone who has had a child that has been killed, either by a childhood disease or by tragic circumstances, as in The Lovely Bones. We can only imagine what the parents, siblings, loved ones and the community do to cope with the loss. By reading this book, one gets a painful insight into what that loss must be like. The devastation that the parents feel is palpable....I have a young child of Susie's age and it is incomprehensible that I could go on living, obsessing about what kind of terror and pain that she would be feeling at the time of abduction. The parents' imaginings of how Susie met her end is, in this case, as bad as they think it is.

I loved the fact that it was narrated by Susie herself and as I went through the book, I held out a hope that this is how heaven could be...passed on relatives watching from above, intervening when necessary (like in Buckley's garden), showing themselves when they think it would help (like when Susie's reflection was caught up in the broken glass of a ship in her father's study when he had his breakdown).

I listened to the book on tape and it included a fairly in-depth interview with Anne Sebold herself and when you know her personal story (raped, as a virgin, when she was 18), you get an insight into why this is such a dark book.

This book will be with me for awhile and I look forward to her next project.
amanda lang (08/11/04)

this book is so good it should be bought by everyone. if you have not read this book yet then you need to.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.