Reader reviews and comments on Mortal Prey, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Mortal Prey

by John Sandford

Mortal Prey
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2002, 416 pages
    May 2003, 400 pages

  • Rate this book

Buy This Book

About this Book


Page 1 of 1
There are currently 6 reader reviews for Mortal Prey
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

N. Schuetz (09/21/03)

In his 13th Lucas Davenport suspense novel, Mortal Prey, John Sandford pits his Minneapolis investigator against a killer-for-hire, Clara Rinker, first introduced in Certain Prey.
Rinker, who unsuccessfully tries to leave the crime world, returns to her profession after her fiance' and unborn baby are murdered by her former mob employers.
Throughout the book Davenport struggles between his sexual attraction and sympathy for this killer who is recovering from an abusive childhood, his duty to protect her targets, and admiration for her cunning methodology in completing her murderous tasks of revenge while outwitting her FBI pursuers.
John Sandford parallels the lives of Davenport and Rinker in a way that leaves the reader riveted to each quick-paced page. I couldn't help but root for both sides to win if only to ensure Clara's return to another Prey novel.
Be warned that neither Davenport nor Rinker are clear-cut good and evil characters. Sandford paints with many shades of gray--a quality that brings out their humanness and bonds them with the realistic reader.
This novel is well worth your time. However, to fully enjoy it, I recommend reading Certain Prey first.

TextMortal Prey
jpj (07/23/03)

This was my first Sandford book. I 've heard a lot about the 'Prey' books. It's a police book with FBI and local cops in a fast-paced chase to stop a hired killer who comes back to kill her former employers. Mostly the hero, Lucas Davenport, gets clues with the help of the hometown boys who find him easy to like, although he gets kidded for driving a porsche. I especially liked the characters of the hometown cops --being retired but wanting back in the 'game' so to speak. The woman hired gun keeps you guessing to the very end of the novel. If you like hardboiled action with a decent plot, Sandford is your guy. P.s. the cell phone bit would make a great movie scene...
Linda Proctor (06/06/03)

Have read all the Prey books and enjoy following Lucas as he
is challenged by different characters. Lucas and Rinker were my
favorite match in two of the Prey books. I will look forward to reading about Lucas's adventures as long as John keeps them coming.
Rebecca Hushagen (09/27/02)

Being of the working class, I found this book to be a great escape. Any Woman in one time or another has wanted to change her identity and do exciting things. I'm not saying that every one wants to be an assain, but the thrill and excitment of the antagonist in Mortal prey sets your imagination on fire.
Jim Haley (08/03/02)

John Sandford is one of my favorite authors and I hate to see his books end. Sandford's favorite hero drives his Porsche to and from crime sites but Sandford lets us read how the lady assassin drives a Mercedes Benz to and from crime sites.
Hero Lucas Davenport rescues the bumbling FBI while they commit one blunder after the other in their pursuit of Clara Rinker.
The only faux pas I saw was somebody involved in final proofing Sandford's manuscript permitted the printer to print both the corrected rewrite of a few paragraphs and the origional paragraphs--word for word. See pages 147-148 and pages 158-159.
I do not like to see misspelled words in national advertisements and other novels but to let us see duplicate paragraphs is really discouraging from a publishing house that has been around since 1835.
Regardless, I enjoyed the book and recommend Mortal Prey to all readers.
However Mr. Sandford should seek apologies from publisher and hope they do a better job of final proofing on his next book.

Comment from the publisher, received August 15th .... Actually, if you'll re-read pages 147-8 and 158-159 of MORTAL PREY, you'll find there's no mistake at all. It is the same phone call, but it's told from two different perspectives. The first time, it's from Rinker's point of view as she makes the call, and we also see her thoughts and reactions.
The second time, it's from Davenport's point of view as he receives it, and it's his thoughts and reactions that are presented. Same call, two different scenes.
We appreciate the close attention, though!
tatjana (05/23/02)

very touchy
  • Page
  • 1

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member
and discover your next great read!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: So Say the Fallen
    So Say the Fallen
    by Stuart Neville
    Noir crime fiction – Raymond Chandler, Dashiell Hammett anyone? – is an American invention...
  • Book Jacket: The Mothers
    The Mothers
    by Brit Bennett
    Every now and then the publishing industry gushes about a young author destined to become the next ...
  • Book Jacket
    by Tom Jackson
    Growing up in Mumbai in the '70s, I still remember herbs kept fresh in small glasses of water, ...
Book Discussions
Book Jacket
The Bone Tree
by Greg Iles

An epic trilogy of blood and race, family and justice.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Next
    by Stephanie Gangi

    Fast-paced, wickedly observant, and haunting in the best sense of the word.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    News of the World
    by Paulette Jiles

    Exquisitely rendered and morally complex--a brilliant work of historical fiction.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Cruel Beautiful World
    by Caroline Leavitt

    A fast moving page-turner about the naiveté of youth and the malignity of power.

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win The World of Poldark

Win the book & DVD

Enter to win The World of Poldark and the full first series on DVD.


Word Play

Solve this clue:

One S D N M A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.


Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!

Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.