Announcing our Top 20 Books of 2022 and Award Winners

Handpicked recommendations to other books that have a similar writing style or theme to Night in Shanghai

Night in Shanghai

A Novel

by Nicole Mones

Night in Shanghai by Nicole Mones X
Night in Shanghai by Nicole Mones
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2014, 288 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2015, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full read-alike results are for members only

If you liked Night in Shanghai, try these:

  • Street of Eternal Happiness jacket

    Street of Eternal Happiness

    by Rob Schmitz

    Published May 2017

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    An unforgettable portrait of individuals who hope, struggle, and grow along a single street cutting through the heart of China's most exhilarating metropolis, from one of the most acclaimed broadcast journalists reporting on China today.

  • This Is How It Really Sounds jacket

    This Is How It Really Sounds

    by Stuart Archer Cohen

    Published Apr 2016

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Part satire, part revenge tale, part wilderness adventure - with a heavy dash of noire espionage - This Is How It Really Sounds explores the seductive power of the Other Life, and what happens when you finally grasp it...

Read-alikes are one of the many benefits of membership. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
How we choose read-alikes

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Voted 2022 Best Fiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. Geraldine Brooks creates a ...
  • Book Jacket: In Love
    In Love
    by Amy Bloom
    Voted 2022 Best Nonfiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. In 2019, author Amy Bloom and her...
  • Book Jacket: Remarkably Bright Creatures
    Remarkably Bright Creatures
    by Shelby Van Pelt
    Voted 2022 Best Debut Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. Shelby Van Pelt's debut novel, ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Scatterlings
    by Resoketswe Martha Manenzhe

    The debut novel of a gifted storyteller who has become a sensation in her native South Africa.

Wordplay

The Big Holiday Wordplay

Enter Now

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Cradles of the Reich
by Jennifer Coburn
Three women, a nation seduced by a madman, and the Nazi breeding program to create a so-called master race.
Who Said...

Discovery consists of seeing what everybody has seen and thinking what nobody has thought.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.