Handpicked recommendations to other books that have a similar writing style or theme to Samurai William

Samurai William

The Englishman Who Opened Japan

by Giles Milton

Samurai William by Giles Milton
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2003, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2003, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Samurai William, try these:

  • The Last Empress jacket

    The Last Empress

    by Anchee Min

    Published Apr 2008

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    The last decades of the nineteenth century were a violent period in China’s history, ultimately ending in the demise of the Ch’ing dynasty. The only constant during this tumultuous time was the power wielded by the resilient, ever-resourceful Tzu Hsi, Lady Yehonala -- or Empress Orchid.

  • 1491 jacket

    1491

    by Charles C. Mann

    Published Oct 2006

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    A groundbreaking study that radically alters our understanding of the Americas before the arrival of the Europeans in 1492.

Readalikes are one of the many benefits of membership. To see the complete list of this book's readalikes, you need to be a member.
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice


Book Discussion
Book Jacket
All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

"A powerful, provocative debut ... Intelligent, honest, and unsentimental." - Kirkus, starred review

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Seven Days of Us
    by Francesca Hornak

    A warm, wry debut novel about a family forced to spend a week together over the holidays.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Wisdom of Sundays

The Wisdom of Sundays
by Oprah Winfrey

Life-changing insights from super soul conversations.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A Good M I H T F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.