MLA Gold Award Site

Handpicked recommendations to other books that have a similar writing style or theme to Samurai William

Samurai William

The Englishman Who Opened Japan

by Giles Milton

Samurai William
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2003, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2003, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Samurai William, try these:

  • The Last Empress jacket

    The Last Empress

    by Anchee Min

    Published Apr 2008

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    The last decades of the nineteenth century were a violent period in China’s history, ultimately ending in the demise of the Ch’ing dynasty. The only constant during this tumultuous time was the power wielded by the resilient, ever-resourceful Tzu Hsi, Lady Yehonala -- or Empress Orchid.

  • 1491 jacket

    1491

    by Charles C. Mann

    Published Oct 2006

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    A groundbreaking study that radically alters our understanding of the Americas before the arrival of the Europeans in 1492.

Read-Alikes are one of the many benefits of membership. To see the complete list of this book's Read-Alikes, you need to be a member.

Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Victoria
by Daisy Goodwin

"A hit…The research is impeccable, the attention to detail, perfect." - The Sunday Mirror (UK)

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk
    by Kathleen Rooney

    "Effervescent with verve, wit, and heart" - Booklist, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Win this book!
Win No Man's Land

No Man's Land
by Simon Tolkien

Inspired by the experiences of his grandfather, J. R. R. Tolkien, during World War I.

Enter

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Conclave
    Conclave
    by Robert Harris
    Although best known for his fact-based historical thrillers, in Conclave, best-selling author Robert...
  • Book Jacket: Conclave
    Conclave
    by Robert Harris
    Although best known for his fact-based historical thrillers, in Conclave, best-selling author Robert...
  • Book Jacket: A Question of Mercy
    A Question of Mercy
    by Elizabeth Cox
    Authors leave little gifts for readers, which seem to turn up at the exact right moment. Perhaps a ...

Word Play

Solve this clue:

H W S W T Devil S H A L S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.