Famous literary quotes with a biography of each quoted person.

BookBrowse's Favorite Literary Quotes

Page 5 of 6

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought.

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Use what talents you possess: The woods would be very silent if no birds sang there except those that sang best

We have to abandon the idea that schooling is something restricted to youth...

We must believe in luck. For how else can we explain the success of those we don't like?

We should have a great fewer disputes in the world if words were taken for what they are

We've heard that a million monkeys at a million keyboards could produce the complete works of Shakespeare...

What really knocks me out is a book that, when you're all done reading, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours

When a true genius appears in the world, you may know him by this sign...

When all think alike, no one thinks very much

When an old man dies, a library burns to the ground.

When I get a little money I buy books...

When men are not regretting that life is so short, they are doing something to kill time.

When you are growing up there are two institutional places that affect you most powerfully: the church, which belongs to God, and the public library, which belongs to you. The public library is a great equaliser.

Wherever they burn books, in the end will also burn human beings.

Who dares to teach must never cease to learn.

Wisdom is the reward you get for a lifetime of listening when you'd rather have been talking

You can lead a man to Congress, but you can't make him think.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.