Famous literary quotes with a biography of each quoted person.

BookBrowse's Favorite Literary Quotes

Page 5 of 6

To be ignorant of what occurred before you were born is to remain always a child

To limit the press is to insult a nation; to prohibit reading of certain books is to declare the inhabitants to be either fools or slaves

To make a library it takes two volumes and a fire. Two volumes and a fire, and interest. The interest alone will do if logs are few.

To win without risk is to triumph without glory

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought.

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Use what talents you possess: The woods would be very silent if no birds sang there except those that sang best

We have to abandon the idea that schooling is something restricted to youth...

We must believe in luck. For how else can we explain the success of those we don't like?

We should have a great fewer disputes in the world if words were taken for what they are

We've heard that a million monkeys at a million keyboards could produce the complete works of Shakespeare...

What really knocks me out is a book that, when you're all done reading, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours

When a true genius appears in the world, you may know him by this sign...

When all think alike, no one thinks very much

When an old man dies, a library burns to the ground.

When I get a little money I buy books...

When men are not regretting that life is so short, they are doing something to kill time.

When you are growing up there are two institutional places that affect you most powerfully: the church, which belongs to God, and the public library, which belongs to you. The public library is a great equaliser.

Wherever they burn books, in the end will also burn human beings.

Who dares to teach must never cease to learn

Wisdom is the reward you get for a lifetime of listening when you'd rather have been talking

You can lead a man to Congress, but you can't make him think.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.