Famous literary quotes with a biography of each quoted person.

BookBrowse's Favorite Literary Quotes

Page 1 of 6

A book is one of the most patient of all man's inventions.

A book may be compared to your neighbor...

A book may be compared to your neighbor; if it be good, it cannot last too long; if bad, you cannot get rid of it too early

A classic is a book that has never finished saying what it has to say

A few books well chosen, and well made use of, will be more profitable than a great confused Alexandrian library.

A library is a temple unabridged with priceless treasure...

A library is thought in cold storage

A library, to modify the famous metaphor of Socrates, should be the delivery room for the birth of ideas--a place where history comes to life.

A million monkeys...

A truly good book teaches me better than to read it...

All my major works have been written in prison...

Anagrams

Analyzing humor is like dissecting a frog. Few people are interested and the frog dies of it.

Any activity becomes creative when the doer cares about doing it right, or better.

Asking a working writer what he thinks about critics...

At times, our own light goes out, and is rekindled by a spark from another person.

Be careful about reading health books. You may die of a misprint.

Be sincere, be brief, be seated

Being slightly paranoid is like being slightly pregnant – it tends to get worse.

Beliefs are what divide people. Doubt unites them

Believe those who are seeking the truth. Doubt those who find it.

Beware the man of one book

Books are the carriers of civilization

Censorship, like charity, should begin at home: but unlike charity, it should end there.

Chance favors only the prepared mind

Children are not the people of tomorrow, but people today.

Choose an author as you would a friend.

Common sense is genius dressed in its working clothes.

Courage - a perfect sensibility of the measure of danger, and a mental willingness to endure it.

Dictators ride to and fro on tigers from which they dare not dismount. And the tigers are getting hungry.

Discovery consists of seeing what everybody has seen and thinking what nobody has thought.

Don't join the book burners...

Education is the period during which you are being instructed by somebody you do not know, about something you do not want to know.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

People who bite the hand that feeds them usually lick the boot that kicks them

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.