Who said: "I have lost all sense of home, having moved about so much. It means to me now only that place where the books are kept."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"I have lost all sense of home, having moved about so much. It means to me now only that place where the books are kept." - John Steinbeck.

John Steinbeck (1902- 1968) was born in Salinas, California. He studied at the relatively new Stanford University (opened in 1891) on and off between 1919 and 1925 and then went to New York where he worked as a reporter and bricklayer, before returning to California where he worked a variety of jobs. It was not until his fourth novel, Tortilla Flat in 1935 that he gained any real literary recognition. Dubious Battle followed the following year, and then Of Mice and Men (1937). Between 1937 and 1939 he lived and worked with migrants to California - the result of this experience being The Grapes of Wrath (1939).

During WWII he worked as a foreign correspondent (a role that he took up again during part of the Vietnam War (1966-67). He continued to write up until his death in 1968 but despite works such as Cannery Row (1945) and East of Eden (1952) his reputation declined in his later years. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1962.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.