Who said: "I have lost all sense of home, having moved about so much. It means to me now only that place where the books are kept."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"I have lost all sense of home, having moved about so much. It means to me now only that place where the books are kept." - John Steinbeck.

John Steinbeck (1902- 1968) was born in Salinas, California. He studied at the relatively new Stanford University (opened in 1891) on and off between 1919 and 1925 and then went to New York where he worked as a reporter and bricklayer, before returning to California where he worked a variety of jobs. It was not until his fourth novel, Tortilla Flat in 1935 that he gained any real literary recognition. Dubious Battle followed the following year, and then Of Mice and Men (1937). Between 1937 and 1939 he lived and worked with migrants to California - the result of this experience being The Grapes of Wrath (1939).

During WWII he worked as a foreign correspondent (a role that he took up again during part of the Vietnam War (1966-67). He continued to write up until his death in 1968 but despite works such as Cannery Row (1945) and East of Eden (1952) his reputation declined in his later years. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1962.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.