Who said: "Chance favors only the prepared mind"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Did you ever observe to whom the accidents happen? Chance favors only the prepared mind." - Louis Pasteur

Louis PasteurChemist and microbiologist Louis Pasteur (1822-1895) was born in France. Three of his five children died of typhoid fever, which likely contributed to his driving desire to save people from disease. He graduated in 1842 from Besancon College Royal de la Franche with honors in physics, mathematics, Latin, and drawing. Later, he attended Ecole Normale in Paris to study physics and chemistry. After which he held academic posts at Strasbourg, Lille and Paris, becoming professor of chemistry at the Sorbonne in 1867.

In his early research he worked with French wine growers to develop a way to kill harmful organisms that adversely effected the fermentation process. The first "pasteurization" test was completed in 1862 and proved a successful technique for extending the life of both wine and milk.

In a famous experiment in 1881 Pasteur showed that sheep and cows vaccinated* with the attenuated bacilli of anthrax received protection against the disease; and in 1885 he saved the life of a nine-year-old boy who had been attacked by a rabid dog using a series of experimental rabies vaccinations.

During his lifetime Pasteur fought to convince surgeons that germs existed and carried diseases but it was not always easy to convince others of his controversial claim. The Pasteur Institute was opened in 1888, where he worked until his death in 1895.

Other quotes from Pasteur:
"Any new system is worth trying when your luck is bad."
"Fortune has rarely condescended to be the companion of genius."
"When you work seven days a week, fourteen hours a day, you get lucky."


*Most of us know the story of how English country doctor, Edward Jenner, discovered that cowpox gave immunity to smallpox in the mid-18th century. However, apparently the history of vaccination goes back much further in time. The ancient Chinese developed a snuff made of powdered smallpox scabs which usually brought on a mild infection, protecting the individual from a more serious case later. In the 1600s European peasants immunized themselves via an injection under the skin, and in the early 18th century King George I allowed vaccination trials on the inmates of Newgate Prison. Some died, but enough lived and gained immunity for variolation to become accepted medical practice.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.