Who said: "To be ignorant of what occurred before you were born is to remain always a child"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"To be ignorant of what occurred before you were born is to remain always a child"
- Marcus Tullius Cicero

CiceroCicero (106 B.C. -43 B.C.) was a Roman orator, statesman and philosopher.  He was born in Arpinum (modern day Arpino, about 60 miles from Rome) and studied law, oratory, philosophy and literature in Rome before embarking on a political career, becoming a consul in 63 B.C. He wrote most of his chief works while living in retirement in the couple of years preceding his death.  He greatly expanded the vocabulary of the Latin language, which allowed later writers to adopt a more fluid style to expound their own doctrines.  In 43 B.C. he delivered his famous speech against Marcus Antonius, and was murdered shortly afterwards on December 7th, 43 B.C.  He is considered the greatest forensic orator that Rome ever produced.

If you're rusty on the finer details of advocacy, the word forensic is defined as 'pertaining to, connected with, or used in courts of law' (coming from the word forum, which was the meeting place for judicial and other public business in ancient Rome).  Thus a forensic orator is one who practices legal oratory.  The Greek lawyer, Corax (5th century B.C.) established the principles of legal oratory.

It's difficult to pick just one Cicero quote. Here are a few more:
The higher we are placed, the more humbly we should walk.
Peace is liberty in tranquility.
While there's life, there's hope.
Every man can tell how many goats or sheep he possesses, but not how many friends.
What nobler employment, or more valuable to the state, than that of the man who instructs the rising generation?

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: My Name Is Leon
    My Name Is Leon
    by Kit De Waal
    Kit de Waal's striking debut, My Name is Leon, has inspired this big, long, complicated question: ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.