Who said: "Second hand books are wild books..."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Second hand books are wild books, homeless books; they have come together in vast flocks of variegated feather, and have a charm which the domesticated volumes of the library lack."
— Virgina Woolf

Virginia WoolfeVirginia Woolf (1882-1941) was a British novelist, essayist, critic and a central figure of the Bloomsbury group*. She was educated at home by her parents - Julia Jackson Duckworth, a member of the Duckworth publishing family, and Leslie Stephen, a literary critic and founder of the Dictionary of National Biography. She experienced a series of traumatic deaths during her teens - first her mother died, then two years later, her half-sister Stella Duckworth, followed by the slow death of her father from cancer. When her brother Toby died in 1906 she suffered a prolonged mental breakdown - the first of many.

It was after the death of her father in 1904 that she, her sister and two brothers, moved to the house in Bloomsbury which would become central to the activities of the Bloomsbury group. In 1905 she began writing for the Times Literary Supplement; and in 1912 married the political theorist Leonard Woolf. Her first book, The Voyage, was published in 1915, but it was not until 1927 and the publication of To The Lighthouse, followed by The Waves (1931) that she established herself as one of the leading writers of modernism. In edition to her novels, she was also a prolific essayist, publishing more than 500 essays starting in 1905.

By March 1941 her mental condition had deteriorated markedly. Unable to face another bout of illness she loaded her pockets with stones and drowned herself in the River Ouse near her Sussex home.


*Named after the Bloomsbury area of London, the group included Virgina Woolf, Lytton Strachey, E.M. Forster, Vita Sackville-West, Roger Fry, Clive Bell and John Maynard Keynes. The group met from 1904 up to World War II. It started out as a social clique formed by a few Cambridge University graduates and their friends who met on Thursday nights for drinks and conversation. They were committed to pushing against the restraints and taboos of Victorianism on religious, artistic, social and sexual matters. By the 1920s their reputation as a cultural circle was established to the point that the groups mannerisms were parodied and Bloomsbury became eponymous for anything considered aesthetically insular or snobbish.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.