Who said: "Education is the period during which you are being instructed by somebody you do not know, about something you do not want to know."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Education is the period during which you are being instructed by somebody you do not know, about something you do not want to know."
— Gilbert K. Chesterton

G. K. Chesterton The critic, novelist and poet, Gilbert Keith Chesterton (1874-1936), was born in London, England. He studied at the Slade School of Art before starting to write. Much of his work was in the form of articles for periodicals, including his own publication which he took over from his brother in 1916 - originally named The New Witness, he renamed it The G.K. Weekly in 1925 and edited it up until his death. He is best known today for his 50 or so short stories about the seemingly benign Father Brown (who uses his distinctive style of deduction to solve the seemingly unsolvable - his cherubic face, thick glasses and air of outward confusion disguising an amazing perspicacity,) which he wrote between 1911 and 1935. Chesterton converted to Catholism in 1922, after which he devoted much of his time to writing on religious topics.

According to those who knew him, he had an extraordinary mind. He could quote entire chapters of Dickens and other authors from memory and proved on a dare that he remembered the plots of all the 10,000 novels he had evaluated while working as a publisher's reader. Several of his secretaries reported that he was able to simultaneously dictate one essay while writing another by hand on a different subject. He was able to connect ideas by tracing their logical, philosophical and historical basis, while also projecting their practical implications for human behavior - his writings are full of such connections.

He maintained lifelong friendships with many including, to his credit, some of those who were his antagonists in journalism, including George Bernard Shaw, H.G. Wells and J.M. Barrie.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.