Who said: "The worst thing about reading new books..."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"The worst thing about reading new books is that they keep us from reading the old ones."
— Joseph Joubert

Joseph JoubertJoseph Joubert (1754-1824) was a French moralist and essayist. He attended a religious college in Toulouse from the age of 14 where he later taught until he was 26, after which he went to Paris where he later became friends with the writer and statesman Francis René, Vicomte de Chateaubriand (one of the founders of romanticism in French literature, whose name lives on through the eponymously named Chateaubriand steak, created by his chef).

Joubert published nothing during his lifetime but wrote copious letters and filled many notebooks with thoughts about the nature of humanity, literature and other subjects. After his death his widow entrusted Chateaubriand with his notes some of which were published in 1838 in a volume titled Recueil des pensées de M. Joubert (Collected Thoughts of Mr. Joubert). Joubert's Pensées have been published in many languages, including English.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.