Who said: "Show me the books he loves and I shall know the man..."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Show me the books he loves and I shall know
The man far better than through mortal friends."

— S. Weir Mitchell


Silas Weir MitchellNeurologist and novelist Silas Weir Mitchell (1829-1914) was one of the most prominent American physicians of the late 19th century and early 20th centuries, publishing 25 accounts and papers based on his extensive experimentations on animals in the 1850s alone.

During the Civil War he worked as a surgeon in the Union Army, treating nervous cases at Turner's Lane Military Hospital in Philadelphia (even though he had no experience in neurology up to that point). He published a number of publications following this period, one of these was 'Gunshot Wounds', which featured the first descriptions of phantom limb, ascending neuritis and erythromelalgia (the 'burning pain', also known as Mitchell's disease).

He is arguably best known for establishing a rest cure as a method of treating patients, especially women, suffering from hysteria - the cure became the standard treatment for many decades, particularly in England.

Weir Mitchell was something of a character. In appearance his gaunt features and bearded face caused some to liken him to 'Uncle Sam'. He was a superb conversationalist and his humor and personality gave him a wide range of friends. He was famous for his sometimes eccentric approach to patients. For example one story (possibly exaggerated with time) tells how he was confronted with a lady who believed she was dying. Having tried all the tricks he knew to induce her to leave her bed, he threatened her with rape and commenced to undress. He got to his undergarments when the woman fled the room screaming!

From the 1880s onwards he devoted his attention to writing novels and poetry. His most popular novels were Hugh Wynne (1897) and The Adventures of Francois (1898). In his later years his fame as a man of letters equaled his reputation as a physician, and he traveled extensively in the USA and overseas giving speeches - but always returning to Philadelphia where he was born and died.

Image from The History of Medicine (NLM), 1881

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.