Who said: "It is always darkest just before the day dawneth"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"It is always darkest just before the day dawneth."
Thomas Fuller, Pisgah Sight (1650), Book II, ch. 2


English Clergyman Thomas Fuller is considered one of the most witty and prolific authors of the 17th century. He was born in 1608, studied at Cambridge and was appointed to the Chapel Royal, Savoy in 1641 (a private chapel of the sovereign associated with the House of Lancaster, which remains a well-known London landmark to this day). He remained there for two years until Oliver Cromwell came to power, and Fuller (a monarchist) left for Oxford.

He returned to London in 1646 and wrote Andronicus, or the Unfortunate Politician, a satire against Cromwell. With the restoration of the monarchy in 1660 he was appointed chaplain-extraordinary to Charles II. During his life he published a number of works noted for their wittiness, anecdotes, epigrams, and puns, such as The Holy State, The Profane State and History of the Worthies of Britain - which was published by his son after his death in 1661.

Confusingly, there are two notable, quotable Thomas Fullers:
The Thomas Fuller quoted above (1608-1661) - an English preacher, historian, and scholar; and Thomas Fuller (1654-1734) - a physician, writer and collector of adages.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.