Who said: "When an old man dies, a library burns to the ground."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"When an old man dies, a library burns to the ground."

This is an old African proverb. There are many others ranging from the profound to the frankly bizarre, including:

  • If you refuse the elder's advice you will walk the whole day. (Tanzania).
  • If you educate a man you educate an individual, but if you educate a woman you educate a family (Ghana).
  • Wherever the heart is, the feet don’t hesitate to go. (Togo).
  • When the monkey sees a nice fruit in the tree that can’t be grasped, then the monkey says the fruit is rotten. (Congo).
  • The ox doesn’t boast about its strength in front of the elephant.
  • When elephants fight, the grass always is the one that suffers. (Swahili).
  • Swim across the river before being rude to the crocodile.
  • If one had nothing to say, one had better keep silent.
  • It isn’t because it is hard that one doesn’t dare, but since one doesn’t dare it becomes hard.
  • Everything has an end, except a banana which has two of them. (Bambara/Mali).
  • He who swallows a coconut has confidence in his anus!

The country of origin is likely just one of the countries where a particular expression can be found - no doubt many of them are widely spread with multiple variations.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.