Who said: "Information is the currency of democracy"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Information is the currency of democracy - Thomas Jefferson

Thomas JeffersonWhen Thomas Jefferson died at the age of 83 he asked that his tombstone list those things that he had given the people, not those that the people had given to him (thus his gravestone does not note that he spent eight years as President of the United States).

His tombstone reads:

Here Was Buried Thomas Jefferson
Author of the Declaration of American Independence
Of The Statute of Virginia For Religion Freedom
And Father of the University of Virginia
Born April 2, 1743
Died July 4, 1826

In addition to the above accomplishments, before becoming a member of the Continental Congress and drafting the Declaration of Independence, the Virginia plantation owner served in local government as a magistrate, county lieutentant and member of the House of Burgesses - which was established in Jamestown, Virginia as the first assembly of elected representatives of English colonists in North America.

After leaving Congress in 1776, Jefferson served as governor of Virginia from 1779 to 1781 and then took up public office again in 1784 in France - first as trade commissioner and then as minister (following in the footsteps of Bejamin Franklin). In the brief time between these two public service roles he wrote his only full length book to be published in his lifetime, Notes on the State of Virginia, which is considered by many to be the most important book published in America before 1800. The book, which Jefferson initially published anonymously in France in 1785, combines data he collected about Virginia's natural resources and economy, with a vigorous argument about the nature of the good society, which he felt Virginia epitomized. He expresses his beliefs about the separation of church and state, constitutional government, checks and balances, and individual liberty. More disturbingly for modern day readers he also writes extensively about slavery and the problems of miscegenation (the mixing of races) and his firm belief that whites and blacks could not live together in a free society.

In 1790 he became Secretary of State under George Washington, and in 1801 became President in the first peaceful transfer of authority from one party to another in the history of the USA. The most notable action of his first term was the purchase of the Louisiana Territory. During his second term he is perhaps best remembered for attempting to keep the USA neutral in the war between Britain and France.

After leaving the presidency in 1809 he returned to the family's plantation in Monticello. During this final period of his life he sold his collection of books to the government to found the Library of Congress and, at the age of seventy-six, founded the University of Virginia, serving as its first rector.

He died on July 4, 1826, heavily in debt, just hours before his friend John Adams, on the fiftieth anniversary of the Declaration of Independence.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.