Who said: "Choose an author as you would a friend."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Choose an author as you would a friend

Wentworth Dillon Wentworth Dillon, Earl of Roscommon (c1633 -1685) was an Irish poet and translator. This particular quote comes from his Essay on Translated Verse.

Examine how your Humour is inclin'd,
And which the Ruling Paƒƒion of your Mind;
Then, ƒeek a Poet who your way do's bend,
and chuƒe an Author as you chuƒe a Friend.

For those whose medieval English might be a bit rusty, ƒ is a variation on the letter s known as long s. The rules of use were complicated but in general it was used at the beginning or middle of a word, but not at the end.

Long s was used in countries whose languages derived from Latin up until the late 18th century. Britain and the USA were among the last to abandon it - The London Times switched in September 1803, and Acts of Congress in the USA stopped being published with a long s from 1804.

The long s lives on in calculus where it is used as the integral symbol (whatever that maybe). It also survived into my childhood, and perhaps yours, adding a certain frisson to the reading of the lessons in church when someone unfamiliar with the text of a traditional version of the King James Bible was called on to read. A memory recalled most wonderfully in a 1994 episode of The Vicar of Dibley (starting at about 11 minutes)

Davina - BookBrowse editor

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.