Who said: "Dictators ride to and fro on tigers from which they dare not dismount. And the tigers are getting hungry"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Dictators ride to and fro on tigers from which they dare not dismount. And the tigers are getting hungry." - Winston Churchill (While England Slept, 1938)

The Right Honourable Sir Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill was born in 1874 to Lord Randolph Churchill and his wife, Lady Churchill, formerly Jennie Jerome, daughter of American millionaire Leonard Jerome. After being educated at Harrow and Sandhurst, he spent about four years in the army including time in Cuba, India and the Sudan. After resigning his commission he unsuccesfully stood for Parliament and then, in 1899, signed on as a war correspondent to cover the Boer War in South Africa, returning to Britain the following year as something of a popular hero for his exploits escaping from a Boer POW camp.

In 1900 he again stood for Parliament, this time winning a seat. Over the next 55 years he held many high posts in Britain's Liberal and Conservative goverments, including First Lord of the Admiralty at the outbreak of World War II (the same post he held from 1911-1915) and, most importantly, Prime Minister and Minister of Defence from May 1940 to the end of World War II in 1945. He was Prime Minister again between 1951 and 1955 and remained a Member of Parliament until the general election of 1964 when he chose not to seek re-election.

Parallelling the success of his political career was his literary career which began with the publication of his campaign reports from the Sudan (1898 and 1899), followed by a novel (his only one) in 1900 and a biography of his father half a dozen years later. He went on to write a four volume biography of his ancestor, John Churchill, 1st Duke of Marlborough; and a four volume history of the First World War, plus six volumes of his memoirs of the Second World War. In addition, he penned other books such as Painting as a Pastime (1948), My Early Life (1930) and While England Slept (1938).

After retiring from office he wrote A History of the English-speaking Peoples (4 volumes). His oratory is recorded in at least a dozen volumes of speeches. In among his many honors he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1953, was the first person to become an Honorary Citzen of the United States and was honored with a state funeral on his death in 1965.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.