Who said: "No matter how cynical you get, it is impossible to keep up."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

No matter how cynical you get, it is impossible to keep up – Lily Tomlin

Mary Jean "Lily" Tomlin, born 1939 in Detroit, Michigan, is an actress, comedian, writer and producer who has won many awards including Tony, Emmy and Grammy Awards, and has been nominated for an Academy Award.

Tomlin graduated from Cass Technical High School and then attended Wayne State University, both in Detroit. After college she started doing stand-up comedy in Detroit and later in New York City, making her first TV appearance as a guest on The Merv Griffin Show in 1965. In 1969 she briefly hosted Music Scene on ABC TV and then joined NBC's Laugh-in which is where she first played many of the characters who she has continued to portray throughout her career. In addition to her many female characters, she was one of the first female comedians to portray male characters in drag.

She was the first woman to appear solo in a Broadway show, Appearing Nitely, which premiered in 1977; she appeared on the cover of Time the same year. She later toured the country with the show and, in fact, has spent much of her career touring with one show or another. In 1985 she starred in another one-woman Broadway show, The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe, written by her life-partner, writer and producer Jane Wagner. It won a Tony Award and was made into a feature film in 1991.

Her film credits include Nashville (which garnered her an Academy Award nomination for Best Supporting Actress), Nine to Five, All of Me, Big Business (where she and Bette Midler played identical twins switched at birth) and Short Cuts.

To many children her voice will be familiar as that of Ms Frizzle on the animated TV series The Magic School Bus (1994-1997) and in recent years she has played Will Truman's boss Margot on Will & Grace, and presidential secretary Deborah Fiderer in The West Wing.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.