Who said: "Idealism increases in direct proportion to ones distance from the problem."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Idealism increases in direct proportion to ones distance from the problem."
– John Galsworthy


John Galsworthy (1867-1933), born and brought up in Britain, was educated at Harrow and studied law at New College, Oxford. He began to write at twenty-eight after traveling widely. His first stories were published under the pseudonym John Sinjohn but were later were withdrawn.

As a novelist he is best known for The Forsyte Saga about an upper-middle class 'new money' family. The Man of Property (1906) was the first in the series. Fifteen years later, after World War I, he continued with In Chancery (1920) and To Let (1921). He also wrote two interludes, Indian Summer of a Forsyte" (1918) and Awakening, which were published in one volume in 1922.

A further trilogy, The Forsyte Saga: A Modern Comedy, followed in the 1920s consisting of The White Monkey (1924), The Silver Spoon (1926) and Swan Song (1928); rounded out by two interludes - A Silent Wooing and Passers By (1928).

The 1930s saw the publication of The Forsyte Saga : End of the Chapter Maid in Waiting (1932), Flowering Wilderness (1933) and Over the River (1933); plus a collection of short stories: On Forsyte Change (1930).

Meanwhile, he also wrote a wealth of other novels, short stories and plays far too numerous to mention.

He won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1932 and died the following year of a brain tumor, leaving two final volumes of the Forsyte saga to be published posthumously.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Graybar Hotel
    The Graybar Hotel
    by Curtis Dawkins
    We – those of us on the outside – are lucky. So very lucky. We get to experience life &#...
  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.