Who said: "Give me the luxuries of life and I will willingly do without the necessities."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Give me the luxuries of life and I will willingly do without the necessities."
- Frank Lloyd Wright


Frank Lloyd Wright (1867-1959) was born in the agricultural community of Bear Valley, Wisconsin. As a child, he spent a lot of time playing with geometrically shaped building blocks designed by Friedrich Wilhelm August Froebel (known as Froebel Gifts). He joined the University of Wisconsin-Madison College of Engineering in 1885 but left after taking classes part-time for only three semesters and moved to Chicago to work for an architectural firm. He married the daughter of a wealthy businessman in 1889 and, having been asked to leave the architectural firm he had been working in because he was moonlighting, set up his own practice in 1890. By 1901 he had completed about fifty projects; during the next 16 years he built many open plan "Prairie Houses" around Chicago, such as the Frederick Robie House, which is considered one of the finest examples of the style.

In 1904, Wright designed a house for Edwin Cheney of Oak Park, during which he fell in love with Cheney's wife Mamah Borthwick Cheney (pronounced may-muh). They eloped to Europe in a furor of scandal that virtually destroyed Wright's architectural practice. During their time in Europe, the two volume Wasmuth Portfolio was published, exposing Europeans to Wright's architecture for the first time. In 1911, Wright began to built a new home for himself close his mother's family land in Spring Green, Wisconsin. Named Taliesin, the original house was destroyed in a fire started by a crazed servant who murdered seven people as the fire raged, including Mamah and her two children.

In 1922, Wright's first wife granted him a divorce so that in 1923 he was able to marry Maude Noel; however her morphine addiction destroyed the marriage in less than a year. Shortly after, Wright met Olga Lazovich Hinzenburg and they moved into Taliesin in 1925 where their daughter, Iovanna, was born in 1925. In the same year, a second fire destroyed parts of Taliesin, which were rebuilt. In 1928, Wright and Olgivanna were married, after Wright obtained a divorce from his second wife.

Wright's most notable building during the 1920s was the Graycliff estate. During the 1930s he constructed his most famous private residence, Fallingwater. It was also in the 1930s that Wright first designed budget-minded houses for the middle-classes known as "Usonian" houses.

He is arguably best known for the Guggenheim Museum in New York, constructed between 1943 and 1959.

During his long career, Wright built 362 buildings, of which 300 survive today. He is remembered for his organic architectural style that utilize local resources to build light and airy houses that met the needs of his clients. He not only designed the buildings but also the furniture and lighting inside them.


More quotes from Frank Lloyd Wright

A doctor can bury his mistakes but an architect can only advise his clients to plant vines.

Early in life I had to choose between honest arrogance and hypocritical humility. I chose the former and have seen no reason to change.

I'm all in favor of keeping dangerous weapons out of the hands of fools. Let's start with typewriters.

If it keeps up, man will atrophy all his limbs but the push-button finger.

Mechanization best serves mediocrity.

No house should ever be on a hill or on anything. It should be of the hill. Belonging to it. Hill and house should live together each the happier for the other.

Simplicity and repose are qualities that measure the true value of any work of art.

Television is chewing gum for the eyes.

There is nothing more uncommon than common sense.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.