Who said: "He who opens a door, closes a prison"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"He who opens a door, closes a prison." - Victor Hugo

Victor Marie Hugo (1802-1885) was a poet, playwright, novelist, essayist, visual artist, statesman and human rights activist. He is best remembered in his native France for his poems, and is considered by some to be France's greatest poet. Outside of France, he is best known as the author of the novels Les Misérables and Notre-Dame de Paris (aka The Hunchback of Notre-Dame).

When Hugo was two, Napoléon was proclaimed Emperor; when he was seventeen, the Bourbon Monarchy was restored. This dramatic political contrast was mirrored in his own family - his father, an atheist republican, was a high ranking officer in Napoléon's army; his mother was an ardent Catholic Royalist, and was the key influence on the young Hugo's life. As a result he grew up a committed conservative royalist but became more liberal as time went on, eventually becoming a passionate supporter of republicanism.

When Louis Napoléon (Napoléon III) seized power in 1851, establishing an anti-parlamentary constitution, Hugo, a member of the Constitutional Assembly and the Legislative Assembly, was among those to declare him a traitor to France - thus Hugo spent the best part of two decades living in exile in Brussels, Jersey and Guernsey, before returning to France and politics in 1870.

He died at the age of 83, and was mourned as both a great figure in literature but also as a statesman who shaped democracy in France. More than two million people joined his funeral procession from the Arc de Triomphe to the Panthéon, where he is buried, sharing a crypt with Alexandre Dumas and Émile Zola. The avenue where he died in Paris now bears his name, as do streets in most large towns and cities across France.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.