Who said: "The longest journey of any person is the journey inward"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Dag Hammarskjöld* (July 29, 1905-September 18, 1961), was a Swedish diplomat, and the second Secretary-General of the United Nations from 1953 until his death in a plane crash in 1961. He personally negotiated the release of American soldiers captured by the Chinese in the Korean War, worked to ease the situation in Palestine, and was instrumental in urging the UN to nullify the use of force by Israel, France, and Great Britain during the Suez Canal crisis of 1956. His "preventative diplomacy" in these and other situations helped define the role of the UN Secretary-General as the executive of operations for peace, and strengthened the independence and effectiveness of the position.

When the government of the newly liberated Congo, faced with mutiny in its army, secession of its province of Katanga, and intervention of Belgian troops, asked the UN for help in 1960, Hammarskjöld led the peace-keeping force. The situation was fraught with difficulties, culminating in fighting between Katanga troops and noncombatant UN forces. In an effort to secure a cease-fire, Hammarskjöld boarded a plane headed for a personal conference with President Tshombe of Katanga. During the night of September 17-18, his plane crashed near the border between Katanga and North Rhodesia, killing Hammarskjöld along with fifteen others. A number of inquiries into the crash made by Rhodesian and UN commissions proved inconclusive, and some continue to believe that it was not an accident.

Hammarskjöld received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1961, having been nominated before his death.

* Pronunciation guide

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.