Who said: "It was one of the worst speeches I ever heard ... when a simple apology was all that was required."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"It was one of the worst speeches I ever heard. The Adams woman told us for an hour how she came to write her beastly book, when a simple apology was all that was required." -- P. G. Wodehouse, The Girl in Blue (1970)

P. G. WodehousePublished in 1970, when he was 89 years old, The Girl in Blue shows P.G. Wodehouse to have retained an enviable degree of lucidity. Not bad for a boy who was born prematurely and spent most of the first 15 years of his life in English boarding schools, seeing his parents (who lived in Hong Kong, where his father was a judge) for about six months in total between the ages of 3 and 15. This was not a particularly unusual scenario for children whose parents worked in the far reaches of the British Empire in locations and climates considered unconducive to the education and health of the young of a certain class. Instead, the young Pelham spent his school vacations with various aunts who are likely the inspiration for the formidable characters who grace the pages of many of his books.

During his 75 year writing career, which ended with his death at the age of 93, Wodehouse wrote 96 books including the popular Blandings Castle and Jeeves & Wooster stories. He also wrote the lyrics for 30 musical comedies - about 250 songs in total; and co-wrote 15 plays.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.