Who said: "Beliefs are what divide people. Doubt unites them"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Beliefs are what divide people. Doubt unites them" - Peter Ustinov

Peter UstinovDouble Oscar-winner Peter Ustinov, one of Britain's best loved and most respected actors, died in 2004 aged 82.

The son of part-Russian parents, Sir Peter was a novelist, noted public speaker and an ambassador for charity UNICEF. His starring roles include movies such as Spartacus, Topkapi, Death on the Nile and Logan's Run, as well as many TV shows including the role of Hercule Poirot in film adaptations of Agatha Christie's novels.

He was born in London in 1921, and educated at Westminster School in London which he hated and left at 16 years of age, finding quick success on the London stage. During World War II he was batman to actor David Niven and the pair became lifelong friends.

Fluent in French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish, he could also speak a little Greek and Turkish. He was married three times to Isolde Denham, Suzanne Cloutier and Helene du Lau d'Allemans, and had four children.


More quotes by Peter Ustinov:

  • If the world should blow itself up, the last audible voice would be that of an expert saying it can't be done.
  • Comedy is simply a funny way of being serious.
  • Did you know that every two hours the nations of this world spend as much on armaments as they spend on the children of this world every year?
  • Her virtue was that she said what she thought, her vice that what she thought didn't amount to much.
  • I'm convinced there's a small room in the attic of the Foreign Office where future diplomats are taught to stammer.
  • It is our responsibilities, not ourselves, that we should take seriously.
  • Love is an act of endless forgiveness, a tender look which becomes a habit.
  • People who reach the top of the tree are only those who haven't got the qualifications to detain them at the bottom.
  • The point of living and of being an optimist, is to be foolish enough to believe the best is yet to come.
  • To refuse awards is another way of accepting them with more noise than is normal.
  • Contrary to general belief, I do not believe that friends are necessarily the people you like best, they are merely the people who got there first.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.